Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Lifetime Fitness Indoor Tri recap

7 Comments

After dealing with my foot issues this past week, a sensitive stomach for the past couple of days and a terrible night’s sleep, I woke up yesterday feeling pretty unenthusiastic about the indoor tri.

Drove (all the way) out to Maple Grove where my husband and I met up with our friends and we got checked in and headed to the locker rooms. I was feeling nauseous and nervous for some reason. Before I knew it, it was 8:50 and our wave started at 9 a.m. We headed out to the pool.

Swimming

I don’t have any pictures from the swim portion but we all got our Lifetime Fitness swim caps and chose our lanes. I shared mine with the hubby ๐Ÿ™‚

Without any warning, they announced that the swim was starting. I resisted the urge to go out fast and kept a steady pace throughout. My arms got tired a lot more quickly than usual, but other than that I felt pretty great.

When our ten minutes were up (felt like they FLEW by!) we quickly headed back to the locker rooms to change and get to the cycling studio. I threw on my bike shorts, a tank and my cycling shoes and grabbed my running shoes since we only had a five-minute transition to the run portion.

Biking

What a s***show. The bikes were definitely not calibrated right and when I first started out, they weren’t even registering any distance. My husband, who is a strong biker, couldn’t match my speed, according to his tracker. We all were pretty frustrated. I felt bad for the Lifetime employees who were probably sick of dealing with people complaining about this. Plus, and this is totally my fault, I had my seat too low on my bike, so my knees were bothering me the entire 30 minutes. But then we all decided to relax and not worry about this portion and instead, rock out to the great playlist they had going!

Running

(I’m going so fast that I’m blurry. (riiiiight.))

Five minutes goes by super fast! We all got to the treadmills and I switched shoes quickly and we all shared some GU before starting. I mis-calculated what my speed needed to be to hit my goal of 2.1 mi in 20 minutes — oops. I was all-out sprinting at the end to try and make it up, but didn’t quite hit 2.1. (maybe instead of asking the person running the treadmill portion of the race to take our picture, I could’ve been running faster ๐Ÿ™‚ )

FINISHED!

Official results:
Swim – 18 lengths
Bike – 24.2 mi
Run – 2.05 mi

I came in 9th place and was the 5th female overall!

…and my husband took first place in the running portion overall! (Last time he won the biking overall — amazing.) I still think if the bikes weren’t so messed up, he would’ve taken the biking this time, too ๐Ÿ™‚

(post-indoor tri bloody)

This and the chips and queso I inhaled afterwards def didn’t help my queasiness but they tasted good. Once my race high wore off, I felt pretty awful again. The rest of the day was spent in bed, recovering.

This was my third Lifetime Fitness Indoor Tri and while they’ve all been great, I have to say the people working this tri in particular were fantastic! What a great experience — already looking forward to the next one ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Lifetime Fitness Indoor Tri recap

  1. Congrats on an AWESOME tri, Hyedi! Fifth female! Amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you’re feeling better! I felt terrible yesterday, tooโ€ฆ skipped working out + dinner and went to bed at 9p.

  2. Bummer about the bikes. But congratulations on what sounds like a strong race and a strong placement

  3. Pingback: 2012 Racing Recap « Finding a Balance

Leave a Reply

