Wisconsin

Happy Monday! Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

This weekend far exceeded my (admittedly low) expectations. After working from home Friday morning, we got on the road around 1 p.m. and headed towards Wisconsin. Just over 5 hours later, we pulled into my parents’ driveway.

My parents took us to dinner at one of my favorite places to get a classic Wisconsin fish fry. Except that they don’t fry the fish – they boil it! And I’m not kidding you, it tastes like lobster. The butter they “drizzle” over it doesn’t hurt, either : ) (The restaurant itself is in this odd, octagon-shaped house.) In the pot that they boil the fish, they also boil whole onions and potatoes. You also get coleslaw and an apple square dessert-thing. And while their meal doesn’t include a potato pancake (my favorite) it does include the most amazing rye bread ever – it’s soft and has salt on the crust. YUM.

After dinner my brother, husband and I went to my friend’s gorgeous house right on the lake to enjoy an evening on her patio with a little fire and we made s’mores.

(ooey gooey deliciousness!)

Fantastic. Before I knew it, it was midnight and I had a glass of wine or two too many so we headed home to try and get some sleep before a big day on Saturday!

After my brother and I moved out, my parents turned his room into a sewing room and mine into a guest room. My brother got home a few days before us, so he claimed the guest room. We then got an air mattress in the sewing room. While it’s a very nice air mattress, it’s not the queen sized bed I’m used to and my husband, dog and I were *quite* cozy. My alarm went off way too early and I was up for a cup of coffee before a run. I cut my planned 7 miles to only 3 because it was already pretty warm out at 9 a.m. and we had a lot to do before our party started at 1. I met my friend at her house for a run along the lake.

(holy hostas!)

(this was one of the nicer parts of the path)

The lake path is pretty treacherous. It’s only paved in a couple of spots. The rest of the path is uneven, rocky terrain or just worn down grass. It definitely felt good to keep my body guessing along the way.

(your typical Lake Geneva lake house)

Our reception was lovely filled with family and friends we haven’t seen in ages and also some that were at the wedding but wanted to come celebrate again!

(family!)

My mom outdid herself with a delicious spread and there were plenty of adult beverages too. The highlight was definitely the carrot cake and gluten free chocolate cupcakes my mom’s pastry chef friend made.

Sunday morning we had our last family meal at my absolute favorite place to get breakfast in Lake Geneva – Egg Harbor. It’s a place that started in Chicago in 1985 (the year I was born!) but opened in LG a few years ago.

I ordered the Cassie’s Crepes, which were stuffed with avocado and mushrooms –yummmmm.

On our way out of town we stopped by my grandparents’ farm. Both of my grandparents passed away a few years ago, but my aunt and uncle bought the farm and are now doing a lot of renovating and just got some chickens and adorable pygmy goats!

When we finally got back to the Cities, I headed to the gym for a sweaty 20 minutes on the step mill and then some upper body strength training. Today is all about getting my eating back under control and looks like it’ll be a nice evening for a run or bike ride (or both!)


6 thoughts on “Wisconsin

  1. Amy

    Haha! It must be weird staying in your parent’s house as a guest! I’ve actually never had to do that before. The lake and the cupcakes look lovely! Glad you had a great and enjoyable weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

