Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Camping!

4 Comments

I’m so excited for this weekend I can hardly stand it! My husband and I are going on our annual camping trip and bringing the dog for his first camping experience ever!

Where we’re going there is a 43-mile paved trail, so we’re going to bring our bikes and drop the dog at daycare for a few hours on Saturday to explore the town and the trail!

Too bad it looks like the weather will be *quite* warm. (I’ve spent the past two days researching portable battery-operated fans online)

In running news, I had the most awful run this past weekend. I think it started with my bike ride last Friday morning. I got out early before work for a quick 10-mile ride since I knew the weekend would be busy with my BFF’s wedding. I kept up a faster pace than I’m used to (mainly because of my lack of time) and found that my legs were very tired and sore the rest of the day and into Saturday.

Saturday was a looong day that started with 8 a.m. hair and make-up appointments for the bride, other bridesmaids and myself.

(The happy couple!)

While I think I did a pretty good job of staying hydrated all day/night, I don’t think I kept it up well enough on Sunday.

($1 7and7s are dangerous)

I headed out around 5 p.m. (once I felt completely recovered from the night before) and it was still pretty warm out. I felt pretty good for almost the entire first mile, but it went downhill quickly from there. By mile 2 I felt dizzy and my legs felt like they weighed hundreds of pounds. I started walking at around 2.3 miles to see if I would start feeling better, but (and this is totally TMI) a wave of nausea hit me and I ended up getting sick. So I turned around and started walking home. My husband was not happy that I didn’t call and have him pick me up, but actually by the time I got home, I felt pretty good!

Also, I’m about a week and a half away from my first ever triathlon. I don’t want to think about that right now.

Off to enjoy some small town baseball tonight! My husband’s cousin plays for the Arlington A’s. Happy Tuesday!

4 thoughts on “Camping!

  1. Oh man. Sorry that you got sick! But sometimes that’s all it takes to feel better.

  2. I don’t have my treadmill set up yet at my new place so I’ve been having to run out in this heat and coming up with all kinds of ways to make it bearable. A couple things that have helped a lot are putting an ice pack in the back of your sports bra and using the “cooling” towels that stay wet and cool to the touch that are activated by water and sweat. So they continue to stay cool as you run. I have tried two different ones both available at Sports Authority and like them equally as well: Cool dana from Frogg (stays wet longer and the banana shape is great for putting on your head) and the Enduracool towel (is a little cooler).

    • Thanks, Aimee! I think I saw those cooling towels at Bed Bath and Beyond recently and was intrigued 🙂 These are great ideas — thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

