Boston is wicked awesome

I’m barely alive, but back in good ‘ol Minnesota.

Boston was amazing. It’s one of those cities where I felt like I could actually live there for awhile. I loved the city and the people — the trip was just too much fun.

Since this is a fitness blog, I suppose I can tell you about that! We departed MSP at 7:20 a.m. Thursday morning and got into Boston right around 11 a.m. local time. We checked in at the hotel, got some lunch (yum — Legal Seafood), hit up the Harpoon Brewery mini-tasting and then headed back to the hotel where my husband and our two friends got ready for dinner and I headed to the hotel gym.

We stayed at the Westin which to me seems like it’s doing a pretty good job of staying ahead of the curve in terms of hotel/travel fitness. There were signs all over the hotel that advertised for $5 you could get workout clothes and shoes so you didn’t have to worry about packing stuff! (has anyone ever done this? it’s SO cool but kind of creeps me out. And what if they don’t have my shoe size????) The facility itself was pretty nice, too. Standard eliptical, stationary bikes and treadmills, but also a pretty impressive selection of free weights, bosu balls, foam rollers, yoga mats, etc etc. Because we had dinner reservations, I just did a quick three miles on the treadmill (after accidentally hitting the stop button AGAIN after two miles) and headed up to my room to shower quick and get to dinner.

I could go on and on (and on) about how amazing dinner was, but I won’t. I’ll just say that this restaurant, a tiny Italian place in the North End, came highly recommended and did not disappoint. Our first day in Boston ended on a high note with wine and gnocchi and then relaxing in the jacuzzi back at the hotel.

Day 2 started with a 5.4 mile run around the city! I got up and asked for a running map from the concierge (thanks to those of you who suggested asking for one!) and it had an easy-to-follow 5 mile route. I ran past the Boston Public Gardens, the Cheers bar, some amazing houses, etc. While on my run, I got not only a fist bump but a “nice pace!” from people who didn’t seem to see a lot of people running the streets of Boston at times other than during the marathon. The rest of the day consisted of the rest of our friends getting into town, eating the most amazing cannoli I’ve ever experienced, a VIP behind-the-scenes private tasting at the Samuel Adams Brewery, and taking in the Twins game at Fenway!

On Saturday, I knew we were going to do the bulk of our sightseeing, so I took a day off from running and just did some strength training work. I enjoyed settling in between two beefy dudes (with terrible forms) and rocking out some reps. I think I surprised them πŸ˜‰ The highlight of Saturday, besides seeing a lot of the amazing history of the city, was another fantastic meal in the North End and then the Twins big win! (Even though I was not there to witness it.)

I did not get a workout in on our last day due to not enough sleep and a few too many glasses of wine and Harpoon UFOs the night before, but the rest day was wonderful. We did some shopping and watched the Twins game in a cool, old bar before heading to the airport to grab dinner. One delayed flight and a few tired travelers later and we were back in Minnesota.

(oyster shooters before flying is not a good idea.)

Now I’m off to the gym to get some miles in and then to enjoy the rest of my day off. Happy Monday!

7 thoughts on “Boston is wicked awesome

  1. I was jealous of all your twitter pictures this weekend! Boston is pretty high on the list of US cities I want to visit. Glad you had such a great time!

  2. Dang, what a fun weekend! And, those oyster shooters…! πŸ™‚

    Way to get some good workouts in, too, while on vacation. A run around Boston taking in the sights sounds like a perfect way to see the city!

  3. Recent UFO reports such as those in Dexter Missouri City Ordinances,
    as Shawn is also a wedding photographer for 2013 time is
    running short! I viewed it as an excuse to check it out.

Leave a Reply

