Uncharted territory.

I ran 15 miles on Saturday. I almost can’t even believe it!

My friend Jen and I set out at 7 a.m. Since I’ve never run this far before, I did my best to map out a route for us. We ended up having to run a little past our starting point, but it worked out pretty well.

I had taken the past two days off from running and my legs felt refreshed! I took a half of my GU at mile 3, the other half at mile 6, another half at 10 and then the rest at 12. There were also plenty of places to refill my fuel belt along the way. I never really felt tired or sluggish at any point. However, the last mile of this run was r-o-u-g-h. My knees were bothering me and my feel were falling asleep/burning — at the same time! But we made it.

I intended for the rest of the day to include an ice bath and napping. However, I forgot that our bathroom is under construction, so no bathtub. And I started getting so sore that I was actually unable to sleep. So it was compression sleeves, ice packs, a Drumstick ice cream cone and the couch instead.

Yesterday, I got up early (trying to do this on a consistent basis) to watch the men’s marathon and then went with a friend to watch and cheer on the YWCA triathletes! It was a dreary day for a race — but really, pretty perfect racing weather.

Also, my parents made the 5 1/2 hour trip from my hometown of Lake Geneva, Wisconsin up to Minnesota to celebrate my brother’s (8/11) and my (Thursday!) birthdays. We went to the restaurant that my brother works at and had the most amazing meal.

In other [weird] news, I’m on our wellness committee at work and won the “Leading with Style” award for helping my colleagues get more activity into their workdays and for getting involved even though I’m a new member. I also got volunteered (again) for co-leading a group for the training clinic my company does for the Twin Cities 5K and 10K. The first practice is tonight!

Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!

4 thoughts on “Uncharted territory.

  1. Happy early birthday! (I’ll try to actually tell you day of, but just in case!).

    Good job on the 15 miler! I wish I could tell you that it gets easier, but…I haven’t seen that happen yet.

Leave a Reply

