When you need some motivation…

…join a group run! With my runs majorly sucking lately, I decided that a group run might just be the motivation I needed. I saw this run advertised in a local running store’s newsletter. It was sponsored by Brooks and promised free beer/pizza post-run and some raffles and a chance to try out Brooks shoes on the run. My knee was feeling better so I decided to go.

I ran with a MUCH faster friend (did not try the Brooks shoes — wish I would have!) and rocked out a pretty impressive pace! There was some miscommunication somewhere because we were supposed to run 4 miles total, but didn’t even go 3.5. Our average pace was 8:36!

*My new sweet Brooks koozy*

I’m a little concerned because my shins have been bothering me on my last couple of runs. This came out of nowhere — I haven’t been increasing my mileage drastically and my shoes aren’t old. I iced tonight and will be stretching and maybe taking a couple of days off. If tomorrow is as beautiful out as today was, a morning bike ride might be in order ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “When you need some motivation…

  1. Awesome run! I think I need to start doing group runs, but for some reason they make me feel really self-conscious. Glad you had a good experience!

    Also, for your shins, if you haven’t already, try walking around on your heels for a couple of minutes twice a day. It feels really awkward, but it helps with shin splints. Hope they feel better!

    1. Thank you!!

      And I agree re: group runs. That is one of the reasons why I usually skip them ๐Ÿ™‚ but it helped having someone else I knew there with me!

Leave a Reply

