Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My second Whole30

7 Comments

Finding a Balance is not a food blog. However, it IS a running/fitness blog and since I’m a firm believer in the impact your diet has on your fitness performance, I thought this post was appropriate.

Back in January, I set out on a journey that would….[dramatic pause]….change my life forever. I completed my first Whole30 and along the way I got rid of my migraines, improved the quality of my workouts, started sleeping through the night, cleared up my skin and lost weight that I was never able to lose before.

What is the Whole 30? (from the Whole9 website):

Whole9’s original program designed to change your life in 30 days. Think of it as a short-term nutritional reset, designed to help you restore a healthy metabolism, heal your digestive tract, calm systemic inflammation and put an end to unhealthy cravings, habits, and relationships with food.

Since January, I kept up my good eating habits for awhile, but sure enough as life got busier and my training intensified, things in the nutrition arena….slipped.

So this brings me to now. Just over a month away from my first full marathon ever. Lately I’ve been grumpy, not sleeping well, my migraines have returned (although they have lessened in frequency and intensity), my concentration has been lacking and I’m constantly fatigued. And my recovery time in between runs has seemed to increase, although this just could be due to increased mileage. However, I feel like my diet is largely to blame. I have to say that I haven’t really gained any of the weight back but I’ve noticed that it feels like I have because of bloating, etc.

Starting yesterday, I’m committing to ONLY eating healthy, REAL food. No alcohol, no dairy, no grains, no legumes, no added sugars or artificial sweeteners and no alcohol for the next 30 days — which will hopefully lead to no more migraines, better sleep, improved mood (leading to a happier hubby! J ) and the successful completion of my marathon!

A caveat, unfortunately: I’m going to attempt to use raisins or another form of natural energy on my mid-distance run this week to see how it goes. Depending on the outcome, GU might still be in order.

Yesterday was day one and it went really well. Round two seems much easier already. I’m on a bit of a tight budget this week due to my new Garmin purchase and my dog’s annual big trip to the vet, so I only picked up the essentials at Trader Joe’s and will go back on Friday when I get paid:

– ground beef and veggies (we grilled at a friend’s house last night)

-eggs

-sparkling water

-spinach

-cashews

-sweet potatoes

Then when I got home, I put the sweet potatoes in the crock pot on low so they’d be nice and roasted when we got home from our friends’. I also made a batch of hard boiled eggs, steamed some broccoli from my CSA before it went bad and grilled  up some chicken for my salads for the week.

Wish me luck! I have a friend who is doing her first Whole30 and started today! Anyone else want in?

7 thoughts on “My second Whole30

  1. The whole 30 definitely has me intrigued, especially when you mention sleeping all night, fighting fatigue and recovery times. I struggle with each of those. I’m definitely gonna look into this plan!

  2. I’m excited to hear how round two goes and perhaps get a few dinner ideas 🙂 We’re cleaning up our eating a bit this month, too, though aren’t doing a Whole30 (i.e., mainly elminating our ice cream addiction and only eating out once a week!).

  3. I’ve been wanting to change my diet back to something healthier again…All of my triathlon training made me feel like I could eat whatever I wanted and I’ve developed some bad habits. Time to bust out the juicer and eat more fruits, veggies, and learn to like eggs.

Leave a Reply

