Cloquet River Run race recap

PR PR PR!!

I woke up Saturday morning feeling pretty terrible and still with a headache. I slept awful the night before and started to question my decision to still race. Plus, the air felt damp and the temperature was barely at 40 degrees.

The Cloquet River Run proceeds benefit the Cloquet grade school, where our nephews go to school. So it’s a fun race that Jesse’s sister and brother-in-law and his oldest nephew all run and there are lots of families that turn out and it’s just a great feeling of community there. The race starts at the school, as well as packet pick up. Pick up went until 8:45 a.m. but the 5K didn’t start until 9:30 a.m. so we picked up our packets and then found a place to stay warm inside.

We headed to the starting line around 9:25 a.m. and I decided to start towards the front (which I never do) since most of the people towards the back were a lot of families and people that were talking about walking the race.

In addition to being nervous about being at the front, I started out feeling awful. As gross as this sounds, I had a lot of phlegm build-up and it was just really unpleasant. AND I forgot to turn on my Garmin right away (product review of my new Garmin coming this week!) so it didn’t start tracking until about a half of a mile in.

However, even though it didn’t necessarily feel comfortable, I found my stride and the cool weather really helped. When we got to the woman calling out first mile splits, I could hardly believe it when she yelled out “7:40!”

The course is an out and back that has a lot of different terrain and ends on the WORST hill ever. At mile two, I was just over fifteen minutes and it became very real to me that I would likely PR. My previous fastest timed 5K was 28:40 in 2008. However, as soon as I hit that hill (that’s the last entire half mile of the race) my pace slowed to just over 10:00 min/mi. I couldn’t breathe and my heart felt like it was going to beat out of my chest. But it wasn’t just me — in fact, I PASSED two people on that damn hill and I crossed the finish line in 25:55. My family looked VERY surprised to see me finish that fast!

Results:
Overall time: 25:55
Avg pace: 8:21
8th in my division
16th female overall

But even MORE exciting — my husband placed 3rd in his division and 6th overall and my brother-in-law placed 2nd in his division (same as my husband’s) and 5th overall! AND my sister-in-law ALSO PR’ed! So it was a pretty fantastic day.

My bro-in-law and husband on the podium!

The rest of the weekend was very relaxing. We were all beat and I could tell I did way too much for not being at 100%. So after resting for awhile, my sister-in-law and I walked around Canal Park for a bit and then she took me out for a belated birthday dinner to my new obsession: the Duluth Grill. YUM!

I’m happy to report that I’m actually feeling noticeably better today. My headache subsided sometime yesterday. At one point on the car ride home, I said to my husband “I think my headache finally went away!”

The marathon is less than two weeks away!

Family!

7 thoughts on “Cloquet River Run race recap

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! Considering the distance, that is a ridiculous PR! And congrats to all of your peeps!

    Glad you are feeling better. I hate the phlegm build up, but good work for pushing through it. And I pretty much always forget to start my Garmin (or, I forget to locate the satellite until it’s too late, and it isn’t ready in time for the start).

  2. Dang, I’m impressed at your time given all the things against you. Imagine what kind of PR you are gonna have on your next 5k when you feel great!

  3. Rock. Star! Congrats on a fantastic and speedy PR! Even more impressive that you did it while not feeling 100 percent. Like Aimee said, imagine what it’ll be when you are! πŸ™‚ And, congrats to your husband and bro- and sister-in-law! What a day! Aren’t races with family the best? πŸ™‚

    Duluth Grill?! Must try next time we’re there!

    I know I’ve said this before, but… I cannot wait to cheer for you at TC Marathon!!! Tell me what miles to cheer at, and I’ll be there!

    1. Thank you so much, Erin! YES! It’s so much fun to be active as a family πŸ™‚

      Yes — everything is locally sourced and their sauces are homemade!

      YAY! I can’t wait, either πŸ™‚ OK I’ll think about it — I will be so excited to see you!

Leave a Reply

