Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Garmin Forerunner 10 review

Leave a comment

OMG I’m in love with a watch. I finally took my new Garmin Forerunner 10 out for a run and I’m SO happy to report that it’s awesome!

Pros:

  • Size: it’s small, lightweight and cute. I’ve been wearing it on the weekends, and it looks just like an everyday sport watch.
  • Current pace: through the use of the Virtual Pacer, unlike the other watches in this price range, you can get your current pace, rather than just the average pace. I couldn’t live without this feature (OK, maybe that’s an exaggeration.)
  • Quick: the time it takes to locate satellites is just a fraction of the time my old Garmin used to take. So now I don’t have to s|and there staring at my watch waiting for it to JUST FINISH LOCATING THE SATELLITES!
  • Features: you can upload your workouts to Garmin Connect and all of the other features I love are there: auto pause, history (although it only records your last ten workouts), and this sounds lame, but I like being able to just have the watch setting so I can wear it everyday.
  • Price: $129.99 was much easier to swallow after my old Garmin died rather than paying to replace it. Even to have Garmin fix my old watch would have cost at least $75.

Cons:

  • Display: you can only choose two things to be displayed on one screen at a time. And you get two screens. So on my main screen I have current pace and distance. If I press a button and go to the next screen, I set it to be total time and distance. You can set it to be whatever combination you want, but I did like having everything on one screen with my 305.
  • Battery life: I’m a slow runner. Therefore, I’m going to have to make sure it’s fully charged and I don’t turn it on until right before I start the marathon. With a battery life of only five hours, I’m going to have to be careful!
  • No multisport capabilities: not a big deal on this one. I used my old Garmin a handful of times on my bike before just opting to use an app on my phone instead. But this might be a bigger deal for some of you.

The bottom line – I LOVE this watch. It has all of the features I need and the cons just take some getting used to. Plus, for the price, it’s definitely worth it. I’d love another one in a different color 🙂

Leave a Reply

