I miss running?

There was a time that I’d JUMP at the chance to have an “excuse” to take days, weeks, or even months off from running. And you’d think the marathon would provide that perfect excuse. But no, somewhere along the way, I started to like running. Ugh.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what my fitness will look like for the rest of the fall and throughout the winter. I’m beyond excited to get back to spinning and Krankcycling, but unlike past winters, I am determined to keep up with running and work on speed so I’m ready to go for my spring races. I’m also craving some HOT yoga as it gets cold outside.

So I’m curious to hear about all of your seasonal fitness routines and how they change? Or maybe they don’t?

I’m sleepy today. The seven courses of amazing deliciousness last night, glass of wine and later-than-usual bedtime definitely did me in. Parents arrive this afternoon — I think a nice, long walk is in my future this evening 🙂

Happy Friday, everyone!

10 thoughts on “I miss running?

  1. My running routine stays the same year round as I don’t have to deal with much snow and freezing temperatures compared to winters in Minnesota. The only issue is my day light is restricted, so I’m forced to run in towns much more, which can make week day routes very repetitive and boring.

  2. My running definitely backs off come winter, though I hope to keep up some maintenance mileage, too (10 miles a week?). I spent a LOT more time in the cozy yoga studio when it’s freezing outside! And, this year there will plenty of time on the bike trainer as well as in the pool. Gotta keep the base for next season! 🙂

  3. Just started getting in to running a month or so ago and want to keep some momentum in the colder months. Just bought some new pants and long-sleeve running shirt so I don’t have an excuse to not run outside while it’s colder but not freezing. Hope to keep up a routine on the treadmill once it is too cold (and too dark) for being outside.

    1. That sounds great! I love running in the colder months, but there is a point where it becomes TOO cold. Good clothing makes all the difference 🙂

  4. I get your feeling… a year ago, a marathon would have been an excuse for months of rest but now I am a running addict. It is coming up to summer here in South Africa and I personally prefer running in winter but looking forward to lots more races this summer.

      1. Its pretty hot… around 30 degress celsius I guess. But sun comes up before five…so its hard to escape the heat sometimes. Still looking forward to getting in a few races and planning for the next marathon.

        Have u decided which one to do next ?

Leave a Reply

