Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

A letdown.

4 Comments

Not unlike most people, I tend to follow up BIG events with a kind of mental/emotional and physical crash. For example. this has happened after graduating from my master’s program, after my wedding day and most recently, after the marathon.

It becomes this cycle. I can first tell that it’s happening because I have a hard time verbalizing a response to the simple question: “So, how did [insert big event here] go?”

— it’s a simple question, but I often surprise myself by giving really weird responses. Like “oh, it was fine.” (when really, it was AMAZING, etc etc) and basically downplaying the experience. It’s so weird.

Then, I physically start to feel let down. I’ll often get sick after big events (not, like, throwing up sick. but usually a bad cold, or whatever is going around).

Finally, to make myself feel better I obsessively look for the next BIG thing to pour myself into. 2011 was my wedding. 2012 was the marathon. And so on.

I was hoping that yesterday’s run would be just what I needed to turn things around. It was a great first post-marathon run, but didn’t stop me from searching for that next BIG thing. I’m stil searching for that something, and in the meantime, I did sign up for the Diva Dash last night. Some things never change.

Anyways, sorry this post was such a downer! I promise this will be followed up with happy posts — including a BIG announcement!

4 thoughts on “A letdown.

  1. Keep you chin up, Hyedi, and enjoy your amazing accomplishment! You’ve inspired me to want to run another marathon πŸ™‚ I actually can relate to this… same thing happened to me after my 70.3 in July. That, combined with the meh of work, and I lost all motivation to train for a second one in September.

    Anyway, sign up for an Olympic triathlon! Or, another marathon! πŸ™‚

    And, I cannot wait to hear your BIG announcement!

    • πŸ™‚ I think I will have to do that. Although it might be another sprint tri before an Olympic. I didn’t quite catch the triathlon “bug!”

      Thanks, Erin!

  2. I do the exact same thing. I think that’s why I was having such a weird emotional breakdown last week…what do you do when something you’ve been working toward is done? I do agree that the absolute worst was right after my wedding. It took me months to come to terms with the fact that it was over!

    Good luck with that next big thing! I’ve been listening to Christmas songs which seems to be making me a happier person!

Leave a Reply

