Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Diva Dash: race recap

9 Comments

The morning started with my alarm going off at 6:15 and I took my dog around the block and then came back to get my in-laws’ dog and took him for a walk around the block. It was lightly drizzling but not that cold.

I made a breakfast of two scrambled eggs and some gluten-free toast with almond butter. I also had a cup of coffee and a glass of water. Then, after much agonizing, I chose my race outfit. Capris with a tank and my Monster Dash jacket over it. Plus, a headband and throwaway gloves.

I cannot for the life of me, find my Body Glide anywhere. (side note: I also cannot find a certain pair of work pants, ahhh) I spent some time Friday night looking for it, but came across this instead.

Free sample from a past race. The towelette was dried out but I wet it and it seemed to work just fine!

My friends Andrea and Mandy got to my house around 7:45 a.m. and we made the 30 minute drive to Circle Pines where the race was being held at the elementary school. When we got there, we met up with our other friends who were racing and I texted Aimee good luck on her 10K.

I started as close to the front as I could without feeling like I’d be trampled. It was a pretty fast initial start, but then there was a lot of weaving and having to go off the very narrow paved path.It took maybe a quarter of a mile to get settled into a steady pace without having to weave around other runners. Things were good until we caught up with the 10K walkers (the 10K started about five minutes before the 5K) — then it was more weaving. It’s amazing how tiring that gets!

The course was an out-and-back and the hardest part came shortly after the turnaround. Immediately after the turnaround, I got a burst of energy and got a lot of encouragement from other runners, but then I started to get tired. I also got passed (but this was the only time!) and I noticed my heart race climbing. I started to focus on my breathing and form and tried to ignore my tired legs and heavy breathing, and before I knew it, I had half a mile left.

So the nice thing AND annoying thing about the Garmin Forerunner 10 is that only two data fields are displayed on a screen at a time. I currently have mine set for distance and speed. So I have no idea what my overall time is unless I press a button to change screens. As I turned the last corner and approached the finish line, I noticed the race clock read 24:30 — I knew that this would for sure be a PR and maybe, just maybe, I’d break 25 minutes! I crossed the finish line with the race clock showing 24:54 and after I crossed the mats and pressed stop on my Garmin, it read 24:56!!

Post-Diva Dash bloody marys.

So there has been some controversy around the race results. I honestly never thought I’d ever actually email someone to dispute a race time. But a few seconds in a 5K means a lot and I know for a fact that my “official” posted result (25:00 EXACT) is slower than it should have been. And it has me listed as taking 15 seconds to cross the start line (definitely not the case). And I wasn’t the only one who had these issues. It seems like a lot of people had the same time discrepancies. But it doesn’t sound like the race organizers are going to do anything about it (because, really, what could they do??) so we’ll see.

Regardless, I placed 33rd overall and 5th in my age division! And I have to say I’m so, so happy!!! And a huge congrats to Katrina for completing her first 5K and Andrea, Mandy and Jen for PRs!

I’d definitely do this race again. The proceeds went to benefit Ovarian Cancer research (my great grandma and my grandma both passed away from Ovarian Cancer) and there were some really inspiring survivors that spoke. There were also door prizes and an after-party! (we skipped the after party and went to the bar next door where it was less crowded and the bloody marys were $1 cheaper!)

Author: hyedi

A 20-something on a journey to live a healthy, balanced life.

9 thoughts on “Diva Dash: race recap

  1. You didn’t tell me you hit a PR on that race! That’s awesome, especially with all the weaving in and out. I can tell you that’s exhausting having to use up little bursts of energy like that. Thanks for telling me about this race, I’m definitely going to plan again for next year.

  2. Congratulations on your PR! Bummer about the official results though! I’ve had that happen a couple of times where I KNOW my time is way off what shows up on the results.

  3. Congrats on the PR!! I want to do a Diva Dash now … hmmmm. ;0)

  4. Hooray for a PR! Great race, Hyedi! What a bummer about the official results, though… did they get it squared away?

    Also, bummed I spaced signing up, but I’m super excited for the GOTR 5K this weekend!

  5. Pingback: 2012 Racing Recap « Finding a Balance

  6. Pingback: 2012 Racing Recap « Finding a Balance

Leave a Reply

