New look + Thanksgiving traditions

I love Thanksgiving. It’s been a long-standing tradition that my family comes from Wisconsin to wherever I’m living at the time to make a big Thanksgiving meal on Saturday of the holiday weekend. This has included super tiny college apartments to our current home (with a super tiny kitchen).

One year, while we were doing a lot of renovating, Thanksgiving looked like this.

And ever since I’ve been with my husband, we’ve done Thanksgiving Day with his family. Also tradition is fighting over the ads all day and then heading out (after a few adult beverages) to do some Thanksgiving evening shopping at the local outlet mall. I usually sit the Black Friday early morning craziness out.

This year, I was also planning to bring, as our dish to share, a traditional Korean dish. However, a lack of planning has made me re-think my plans. I’ve decided to go with the safer option of doing a Brussels sprouts recipe I found.

Hope you like the new look I’m playing with! I took a cue from Erin who just updated her blog’s look. Also, I updated my About Me page and added some of my fave blogs to my blogroll. Enjoy!

What are everyone’s plans for Thanksgiving? What are your traditions?

8 thoughts on “New look + Thanksgiving traditions

  1. Loving the new look! And, loving your thanksgiving traditions! So awesome your family comes to you wherever you are 🙂

    Brussels must be a popular side… I’m making a similar dish for Thursday!

  2. Blog looks great! And thanks for adding me to your blog roll!!!

    Both of our families are local, so we usually eat dinner at my parents’ then head to Aaron’s aunt’s house for dessert. Definitely makes for a LOOONG day, but we do it for every holiday! This year we along with my dad and two sisters are running a Turkey Trot. I’m pretty excited for it, but at the same time bummed that I’m missing the first hour of the Macy’s parade.

    I hope you have a wonderful holiday! Good luck with your dish!

  3. If you have a Trader Joes where you are, you have to try these microwavable packs in the fresh produce isle… they’re AMAZING, I had a whole box yesterday for lunch. Oh, wait, maybe they’re not as delicious as the Dried Cherry Butter ones though…hmmm

  4. The Brussels look freaking amazing! Great choice. I do Black Fri morning shopping b/c I love how hardcore it feels 😉 I peruse the ads Thanksgiving morning while watching the parade! It’s so relaxing and a fun tradition. Plus buzzed shopping could get dangerous!

    1. It’s definitely dangerous, although I deal with the crowds much better 🙂

      My family used to watch the parade when I was growing up, but it’s a tradition I haven’t really kept up on. I think it needs resurrecting though!

Leave a Reply

