Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Where did that come from?

7 Comments

I got sick out of nowhere yesterday. And I’m not talking about just a stuffy nose and a sore throat — I had body aches, a fever, the chills and a pounding headache. Needless to say, my run streak didn’t make it past day six. There was no way I was running even one mile yesterday.

But it’s amazing what some quality sleep can do for a person. After two naps and a full night of sleep, I woke up this morning feeling almost good as new.

Today I was lucky enough to have an off-site lunch meeting for work at Cooks of Crocus Hill, a local “all things culinary” store. They also have cooking classes at their two locations and do corporate events. Part of my job right now involves working with Cooks on a pretty cool project trying to help older adults (read: senior citizens) eat better.

YUM. Words cannot describe.

After work, I was excited to find out that my Cyber Monday purchase came today already! After sending out an email to some of my most trusted shopping advice gurus on Monday, (Kate, Erin, Jen and Mandy) I purchased a half-zip pullover, perfect for nighttime running. I also may have bought some matching gloves πŸ™‚

No, I’m not giving a thumbs up. That’s my thumb on the pepper spray trigger. Don’t f*** with me.

I decided that since it was already dark out when I got home around 5 p.m., it was the perfect night to try out my new jacket! There really is something invigorating about running at night.

My shins have been bothering me lately on my runs. It seems to be mostly when I wear my Asics. I should only have roughly 200 miles on these shoes, so I don’t think they need replacing.

Finally, kind of random…look what I got in the mail the other day…

 

I’ve never ran a race before that’s done this, but the Grandma’s marathon and Garry Bjorkland half sends this out and it has all of the race results from both races.

Oh, one more random note: make this recipe. It’s delicious and you will thank me.

Author: hyedi

A 20-something on a journey to live a healthy, balanced life.

7 thoughts on “Where did that come from?

  1. Random sickness like that is so weird! That’s totally happened to me. Once I went into a fitness class feeling fine, and came o ut of it feeling like I’d already been sick for days and was on the worst day of a flu. What on earth! Glad that the sickness was gone as fast as it came tho.
    Um, I love spanikopita. Thank you for sharing that recipe! Opa!

  2. Sleep does amazing things for your body! Glad you’re feeling better.

    Lunch at Cooks for work?! Can I come work with you? πŸ™‚

    Good choice on the pullover… it looks great! Also, winter + in-the-dark running is crazy invigorating! Two of my favorite times to run.

    Those burgers will be on my dining table SOON πŸ™‚

  3. Glad to hear you’re better!
    Also love the new top! What’s Cyber Monday? Is that a brand in the US? :S

    • Thank you!!! πŸ™‚

      It’s a big online shopping day that follows Thanksgiving. Retailers usually have good deals for online purchases with free shipping, etc. I love online shopping πŸ™‚

  4. Cute jacket! Glad your sickness was short lived even though that sounds like a pretty miserable day.

Leave a Reply

