30 days

I  leave for Tampa in 30 days and leave on my cruise in 31 days. Which means I have a lot less time to get cruise-ready than I thought I would. Getting sick for three weeks really messes up your plans. So, my modified plan is basically:

  • I’m doing a juice cleanse.
  • After that I’m going to focus on eating a clean, unprocessed and mostly gluten-free diet (for the most part) and limit any alcohol intake.
  • Focus on getting healthy so I can get my workouts on and get back to running

In the meantime I’ve been doing a lot of Googling “what to pack for a cruise” and checking weather forecasts. Our friend who is coordinating the trip (and who is a seasoned cruiser) sent this today:

Tampa- 81 today and sunny
Cozumel 80 humid and mostly sunny
Grand Cayman  83, humid and sunny

I can’t wait.

Oh and I’m doing my best to get and STAY healthy. I started by stocking up on hand sanitizer today.

My cousin posted some of her wedding reception photos today on Facebook. A few of my favorites:

Family.

Family.

I have no idea what's going on here, but I like it.

I have no idea what’s going on here, but I like it.

16702_10101210621132489_503923378_n

293547_10101210646801049_2089265755_n

 

Today was day three of the juice cleanse! Felt AWESOME today. I also successfully turned down a cakepop and a brownie. And whatever smelled really good at the Mall of America during my quick trip over lunch.

Who’s been on a cruise before? Any tips for me?

10 thoughts on “30 days

  1. Danielle

    You’re actually better off sticking to soap and water for clean hands, as a lot of bugs are resistant to hand sanitiser. Our school was advised to do that, which I adhered to, and I was never sick; considering I taught 28 fourth graders at the time, I considered myself lucky.

    Enjoy the cruise!

    Reply
  2. Michelle

    I’ve been on a couple of cruises. Best advice: If you’re planning on getting any spa treatments, get to the spa immediately after getting on board and book your appointment(s). They fill up very, very quickly.

    Have a great time on your cruise!

    Reply
  3. Erin Runs

    Just found your blog- I am your new follower. Love it 🙂

    I have never done a juice cleanse. How did you choose yours? And how many days are you doing it for??

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Thanks so much! I’m looking forward to checking out your blog too 🙂

      I chose mine after sampling the juices at a workshop. They were much better tasting than other vegetable juices I’d tried before. The company is also a local husband/wife team which I liked. And finally, I loved that they offered a “beginner cleanse” as someone new to this whole thing! It’s a five-day cleanse — tomorrow is my last day!

      Reply
  4. Sarah

    I’ve been on a cruise before, and my husband and I hoping to go on another next winter. They’re a lot of fun! My advice is to try and do excursions on the different islands you stop at. We stopped at Jamaica and did the Dunn’s River Falls tour – it was great!

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      OMG I’ve done Dunn’s River Falls too. One of my favorite memories ever!

      Thanks for the advice 🙂 My husband wants to go parasailing and maybe I’ll look into snorkeling!

      Reply
  5. erin

    Fun in the sun… can I join you?! 😉 I’ve never been on a cruise, but I would think a few swimsuits, sundresses and flip-flops would be perfect! And, I second Sarah… definitely explore when the boat docks. The best part of any vacation I’ve been on is off the beaten path 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

