Kicking off the racing season

You know you’re getting old when you get excited about a freezer.

Isn't it pretty?
Isn’t it pretty?
Look at all that room.
Look at all that room.

In keeping with the theme of being old/home ownership, we spent Saturday all day trying to fix the leak in our brand new shower. So naturally, J cut a hole in our wall.

Lovely.
Lovely.

Thanks to J and my father-in-law, everything seems to be in working order now!

Anyways, back to the topic of this blog. Like the title of this entry implies, I’ve officially kicked of my 2013 racing reason. It feels a little early, but I feel like I have a little catching up to do after taking so much forced time off and having some pretty big speed goals for the year. First up, I’m training for the Point Bock Run 5 miler which is March 2. The fastest I’ve ever run that was in 48:54. I don’t want to just PR this race — rather, break 45 min. So I’ve got my work cut out for me.

I got a run in Friday, a solid workout on the stepmill/strength training on Saturday and a “long” run on Sunday. And that feels amazing to be back at it.

Step mill reading material.
Step mill reading material.

Today’s run splits:

Mile 1 – 9:40

Mile 2 – 9:22

Mile 3 – 9:05

Mile 4 – 8:49

Four miles in 36:58.

I’ve been taking it easy, but I feel like I’m getting really close to be able to start picking up the pace again. Thank goodness!

Off to watch the Golden Globes and the season premiere of Girls! #obsessed

8 thoughts on “Kicking off the racing season

  1. No shame in being excited over a freezer! Been there and done that… and I was 24. I didn’t think that was THAT old! And man-o-man… I read your posts and realize I really need to find a running buddy! I think you are doing great! Hip hip!

  2. Yay for big goals!! You are going to crush 45 minutes! How do you like the step mill? I feel like that is harder than running (if I don’t lean over with my arms, of course).

    1. Thank you!! I love the step mill and I agree — much harder than running. I feel like I can get a solid workout in, in a short amount of time 🙂

  3. I’m old, too, because I would LOVE a freezer like that!

    I have no doubt – you WILL PR and run a sub 45 at Point Bock! Glad you’re feeling better and back in the swing of things!

Leave a Reply

