Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Random Tuesday Thoughts

13 Comments

I took the next step in my personal training certification journey this weekend and got certified in CPR/AED. I have to say I was pretty impressed with the class and was a lot more in-depth than when I first got certified as part of lifeguarding training – TEN years ago!

I followed up my weekend of solid workouts last night with unfreezing my Gympact account (Side note: when I got sick, I was in the middle of a pact so I was worried about getting charged for not working out. A quick email on my part, explaining my situation, was all it took to get a quick response and freezing of my account. Awesome.) and heading to the gym for a quick speed work session on the treadmill. I wanted to ease back into it and I was short on time because I didn’t get to the gym until 8:30 p.m. so I did the following workout:

Warmed up with a one mile slow run @ 9:40 pace

Then did the following intervals:

4×400 @ 8:00 pace

2×200 @ 7:30 pace

1×100 @ 6:58 pace

I finished feeling pretty great! The distraction of the Biggest Loser helped get me through it too.

Speaking of Gympact, I just cashed out some of my rewards and signed up for some races! I made over $100 in 2012.

photo

If you want to give it a try, use my referral code and we both get $5: 237ec8546d.

Just one of the cool things about the Ragnar Ambassadorship is you get a free race entry for the 2013 season. So I finally got my act together and took advantage of this by signing up for half marathon #1 for the year – the Minneapolis half. I ran this race back in 2010 after not training AT ALL. It was pretty painful and I was totally disappointed in my time. However, this year I’ll obviously have trained for is and the course has changed since then. The finish has been moved so you no longer finish on an awful uphill. The other nice, but not terribly exciting, thing is that the majority of the course is where I do most of my training runs – so I’ll know what hills to expect, etc.

Finally, I’ve been reading a lot lately about racing flats and need some advice — are racing flats only for the elite? I typically like to rotate between a more stable/cushioned shoe for my longer runs and a lighter shoe for shorter runs and I also use those for races. Do I add a pair of racing flats to the mix?

13 thoughts on “Random Tuesday Thoughts

  1. I JUST added racing flats to my mix this past June. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I knew I wanted to switch up my shoe routine. I ended up with the Adidas Adios, which I LOVE. They sat in my closet for almost a month before I finally figured out what to do with them, though. 🙂 You need to ease into them, so I started off with a short three miles in them, and increased that by a mile or so each week or two until I was doing my long runs in them to prep for race day. I also have several friends that can’t say enough about the new Nike Flyknit racers, but I haven’t let myself try them on for fear I fall in love (so expensive!).

  2. I don’t wear racing flats, but I am interested in reading more about them. Let me know if you find anything out!

  3. I think I”m gonna check out Gympact- I’ve read a lot about it… will use your code

  4. A few things: 1. I’m pretty sure were the same person. I was a lifeguard years and years ago as well. I have CPR class day with this program I’m in for PT. 2) I hadn’t heard of gympact until now..seems interesting. 3) Are you talking racing flats..like track season, racing flats?

    • 1. Ahhhhhh too funny! Just another reason you should come cross Minnesota off your racing list 🙂 2. Let me know if you have questions about Gympact! 3. Kind of, but for road racing. I’ve had track spikes in the past..

  5. Gym pact looks interesting. I need to find out if it works in the UK too and if so, will use your code if I sign up! Thanks!

  6. I haven’t read much about racing flats, but I’m guessing they’re similar to minimalist shoes (Vibrams or Inov8s). Just be sure to gradually build up mileage if you get a pair… running too far too soon = injuries!

    I should really give GymPact another try! But, there’s so much on my plate already, I know I’d probably forget to log 🙂

    And, yay for a free race entry! Love the MPLS half!

  7. That’s so nice that Gympact let you freeze the account! And you made some good dough!
    I totally would have been wiped if I got to the gym that late! I feel like I just don’t have it in me to work out past 7:30 or 8pm. Plus it interferes with my dinner time in front of the DVR, haha! If I have evening plans I try to wake up in the morning before work to get the workout in.

    • I’d much rather get my workout out of the way first thing in the morning! I’m just having the hardest time getting out of bed these days. BUT I’ve made plans to go to a 6 a.m. class tomorrow with a friend so that will hold me accountable!

Leave a Reply

