Super Bowl Sunday

Well I had a pretty fantastic Super Bowl Sunday — what about you?

I started off the day by making a big batch of blueberry quinoa breakfast and got started on the Western Bacon Cheese Ball I was making for our party.  Once I got the “ball” formed and set in the fridge, I headed to the gym. I was looking forward to a group long run with some of the MN Ragnar Ambassadors but with the cruise coming up I need to get all the visits to the gym that I can get in.

When I got to the gym, all of the treadmills with the TVs were taken. Luckily, I had predicted this scenario so I brought my iPad with. But the wi-fi must not be strong enough to stream any video…darn — was really looking forward to catching up on Revenge. Oh, and it made for a really, really long seven miles on a treadmill.

Minus a couple of blisters on my toes (still breaking in the new shoes) and some little aches I felt while warming up, the run went really well. I forced myself to take it easy which is much easier to do on a treadmill than outside.

Approximate splits:

Mile 1 – 10:21

Mile 2 – 10:10

Mile 3 – 10:10

Mile 4 – 10:00

Mile 5 – 9:50

Mile 6 – 9:40

Mile 7 – 9:48

7 miles in 1:09:58 (~9:58 average pace)

I think I earned some BBQ pulled pork and wings.

I think I earned some BBQ pulled pork and wings.

Right after I posted that picture on Instagram, the official Pawn Stars account “liked” it. Very strange.

WTF?

WTF?

Our Super Bowl party was a success and the game turned out to be pretty good at the end! Oh, and I was too busy stuffing my face to take photos of the rest of the delicious food, but I did manage to take a couple of photos:

The cheese ball!

The cheese ball!

Andrea's delicious dessert.

Andrea’s delicious dessert.

Looking forward to a busy week before leaving for Tampa on Friday morning! I’ve got the Tackle the Miles virtual 5K, a pedicure and dinner with a friend, group run at the Metrodome and a much-needed haircut! Anyone else have a super busy week?

 

11 thoughts on “Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Hillary

    Bahahah! I love random favoriting and such. I ran long on Sunday and ended up bailing on a few game watches because I was tired… seriously regretted it, though, when the runger set in and I had no cheese balls or desserts. Lesson learned!

    Jealous of your cruise. We could all use some warm weather right about now!

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Haha — runger is the worst! Probably way worse when you don’t have food around (because then I start to get irrational about things. And desperate) but also bad when you DO have food around. Because there’s no stopping me when I get started!

      Reply
  2. Erin Runs

    But the main question: how did the cheese ball taste? Would you alter the recipe at all???

    Bummer about Revenge not working!! I would be so depressed of I thought that I was going to get to watch it then it didn’t work. I love her style so I enjoy looking at her outfits 😉

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      The cheese ball was DELICIOUS! It was a savory and a little sweet — so good. The only thing I left out was the parsley because I didn’t have any 🙂

      Reply
  3. Caitlin

    LOL the Pawn Star thing is so random. That iPad-instead-of-TV thing reminds me of how I like to bring a mag w/me to the gym at all times just in case they don’t have any good ones for me to check out on the StepMill. I hate being stuck with nothing to read! Just listening to music doesn’t entertain me.
    HOLY CHEESE BALLLLLL

    Reply
  4. jupiler1060

    Respect. I struggle to stay interested on a treadmill for any more than 10 minutes 🙂 Had a great Superbowl Sunday – couldn’t find any pubs to watch the game at in this part of the UK, so watched at home instead. Also put in a 20 miler earlier in the day and not felt any repercussions since. More Sundays like this please 🙂

    Reply
  5. erin

    Good work… I’m not sure I could make myself run seven on the dreadmill 🙂 But, I like the iPad idea… maybe then I could!

    I barely watched the super bowl – and barely watched the commercials!

    So jealous of your upcoming trip! I’m headed to Denver + Wyoming next week for work… not quite the tropics, but I’ll take it 🙂

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Thanks 🙂 And actually I didn’t watch much of the Superbowl or many of the commercials. Too much distracting food and too many good conversations!

      Have a good trip!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

