Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

A good excuse.

8 Comments

I’ve decided that with half marathon training kicking off, it’s a good excuse to start taking better care of myself. I know that sounds weird, but sometimes it takes something special to really motivate me. These are the things that I really want to focus on:

  • Get better sleep (hopefully the SleepCycle app will help with this!)
  • Eat foods that make me feel good (less gluten and dairy)
  • Honor rest days but make sure I’m getting in quality workouts (as Jillian Michaels would say — “don’t phone it in”) on the other days

I did my first tempo run yesterday! Or at least I think I did. I don’t know why I get so confused by any and all speed work. Maybe one of you lovely readers can help me.

According to McMillan, my tempo run pace should be between 8:46 – 9:03. I also read about adding 30-40 seconds to your current 5K pace (~8:22).

The training schedule called for a 30 minute tempo run, so this is what I did:

-10 minutes @ 8:57

-15 minutes gradually increasing pace until I peaked at 8:00 and held that pace for about two minutes

-5 minutes easing back down to 8:57 again

Does that seem right?

This morning I met Anna at the gym for an early morning strength session. I finally feel like I’m back in the weight lifting groove.

What’s left for the rest of the week:

Friday – REST

Saturday – Swim with Andrea / 3 mile (pace)

Sunday – 6 miles

I head to Chicago for work on Sunday afternoon but you can bet I’m bringing my running shoes along! I’m seriously so excited for the hotel though. They have a really great loyalty program which includes having a yoga mat in my room waiting for me!

I’m attending a two-day seminar but I am also planning to enjoy Chicago as much as possible while I’m there. I used to spend a ton of time in Chicago but haven’t been there in awhile! So I have dinner plans with a friend when I get in on Sunday and then with another friend I haven’t seen in FOREVER on Monday! Let’s hope the weather cooperates — looks like the Midwest is going to get some more snow!

Give me tempo run advice! Who’s running spring half marathons?

8 thoughts on “A good excuse.

  1. I truthfully have no idea how tempo runs are supposed to be run (there seems to be so many different versions). I can tell you that I do the first bit at a warm-up/recovery speed. I start the tempo off at marathon pace and work my way down to about 10-K pace and then cool down (usually at a faster speed than the warm-up since my perception of fast has been thrown off thanks to the tempo). The Advanced Marathoning book I’m reading suggests that you shouldn’t push the pace of tempos too much (I forget why though). Something about ideal lactic threshold.

    I need the sleep app. I’ve been sucking at sleeping lately.

    • Thanks for the info — what you’re saying makes sense. And I feel like even if I’m not doing it exactly “right” I’m sure I’m still getting a lot of benefit from this!

  2. Have you heard of USANA vitamins? My Mom used to sell them so naturally we had to take them. I took the Essentials Multi-vitamin, multi-mineral pack when I was in my early 20’s, with a somewhat teenage diet and poor immune system. I used to have trouble sleeping, but found that when I started on these vitamins and minerals, my sleep issues disappeared and I went from getting sick 5 times a year to maybe once? They are expensive though, but so much better than what you buy at the grocery store, and will give you noticeable results in the way your body works. Just an idea 🙂

  3. I think you have the right idea with the tempo run! When is your next race?

    Good luck in Chicago looks like you will be doing soem treadmill running…

  4. Those three things are key! And, are three things I need to be a bit better at, too, especially getting more sleep.

    I don’t know much about tempo running, either, and just run the pace my coach tells me 🙂

    Did you make it home ok from Chicago?! Hope so!

Leave a Reply

