Chicago VZW Voices Health and Fitness blogger dinner

officialtime

Official results are posted now and I ended up PR-ing with a time of 39:46 and my 5K split was 24:35!

Last night was an absolute blast. After a lovely afternoon of shopping and getting a blowout (I might be addicted), I headed down to the hotel lobby to meet the rest of the bloggers participating in the VZW Health and Fitness Voices program. We also met up with Kristen and Brenda from Com Blu and Iskra from Verizon. We all walked to the Park Grill for dinner.

First course: Pear salad

mixed greens, pears, chestnuts, blue cheese, hazelnut dressing
mixed greens, pears, chestnuts, blue cheese, hazelnut dressing

Second course: Bang Island mussels

white wine, house garlic-fennel sausage, kale, tomatoes, ciabbata
white wine, house garlic-fennel sausage, kale, tomatoes, ciabbata

Entree: Risotto

wild mushrooms, leeks, butternut squash puree, basil, mushroom broth, manchego cheese
wild mushrooms, leeks, butternut squash puree, basil, mushroom broth, manchego cheese

Dessert: fruit plate!

IMG_3911

Oh, and plenty of wine.

Somehow the glass just kept getting filled.
Somehow the glass just kept getting filled.

The dinner was the part of the trip that was causing me a lot of anxiety, but it ended up being one of the best parts of the trip. It was so great to get to know some of the other bloggers and everyone was so friendly.

After dinner I met up with my cousin who was in town for work. Once I got back to my hotel room I watched some of the ACM’s to catch the Garth Brooks/George Strait “duet” and then crashed. I was so tired I didn’t even pack — so unlike me!

My last Chicago post is coming tomorrow! About to get on a flight back home. Let’s hope it’s smoother than it was on the way down here 🙂

image001

Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and Verizon paid for my meal.

7 thoughts on “Chicago VZW Voices Health and Fitness blogger dinner

Leave a Reply

