Reach your health and fitness goals using technology — Jawbone UP giveaway!

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm
OK guys, I’m super excited about this. In fact, this might just be one of the coolest giveaways I’ve had the chance to do yet! Through my ambassadorship with Verizon, I’m giving away one UP by Jawbone! ($129.99 value)

Similar to the Fitbit I’ve been getting to try out, UP tracks how you move, sleep and eat. It’s a wristband + mobile app system and I’m told it is small, flexible and strong — perfect to fit into all of your active lifestyles and help you reach your health and fitness goals. Here are just a few of the features of the device:

  • Designed to be worn 24/7; up to 10 days of battery life (check out that battery life!)
  • Tracks sleep and activity using advanced sensor technology
  • Log what you eat and drink, and track nutritional info
  • Get personalized insights that help you set and achieve your goals
  • Set a Smart alarm to help you wake up feeling refreshed (I love this about the Fitbit)
  • Set Idle Alerts to remind you to move and stay active

Ready to win an UP system? Here’s what you need to do:

  • Before 4 p.m. CST on Wednesday, May 15, answer the following question in the comments below:“How has technology helped you reach your health and fitness goals? Or if it hasn’t, how do you envision that it might help you reach your goals?”

After 4 p.m. on 5/15 I’ll randomly choose one winner from the comments below to win an UP by Jawbone and I’ll announce the winner on Friday morning. The giveaway is open to U.S. residents only. Good luck!

Side note: You might come across other UP wristband giveaways around the blogosphere this week. Verizon requests that you only win on one blog.

Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

20 thoughts on “Reach your health and fitness goals using technology — Jawbone UP giveaway!

  1. Rachel

    I have the Nike Fuel band, and while I like that it encourages me to be active, aka get fuel points, it really hasn’t done much for me. So I’d LOVE to win the UP band because I think the idle alerts will help me get up and moving, especially while at work. The band would definitely help me with my goal of being active/moving/exercising for 30 minutes each day while being at work. #PickMe 🙂

    Reply
  2. Kristen Svobodny

    What an amazing giveaway!!!!! Technology has definitely changed my healthy habits for the better. Thanks to you, Hyedi, I learned about GymPact!, which has been a favorite for a little more than a year. I love my Corepower Yoga app, too, because I can pull up classes that are close to me or at a convenient time. I also like to use My Fitness Pal from time to time.

    Reply
  3. Jen Malm

    Technology has assisted my health and fitness goals quite a bit. My goals have changed over the years from trying to keep the few extra pounds off in college, training for a specific event, losing weight for my wedding, and now just working out for my body and mental health. It first began with mapping my runs on mapmyrun.com before smart phones, helping me to train for runs and make sure I was running far enough combined with a heart rate monitor to make sure I wasn’t going to fast judging my my heart rate and time. When I got my garmin gps watch/heart rate monitor it changed everything and planning runs and just going for a run in general became much easier and lots less of a hassle. I never run without it now and I know I never would have been able to train successfully for the marathon without it. The apps on my various phones over years have helped as well, not only for music and emergencies either. I recently joined gympact, an app that makes you commit a dollar amount if you break your ‘pact’ of how many times you go to the gym or workout each week using the phones gps and various sensors. There are always days you want to be lazy but when money is on the line, it makes you think twice and you get your butt off the couch. The Myfitnesspal app allows me to track food and activity and follow friends and give encouragement. Technology has helped me so much, I wouldn’t have achieved half the things I have without it. I’d be thrilled to win an UP!

    Reply
  4. Aimee Cheek

    Since owning an iPhone, I’ve become a fitness tech junkie! I use apps to help me train for running, counting calories, working toward 100 push-ups, signing up for my yoga and fitness classes, tracking my calories, blood pressure readings & tracking mileage (not all the same app). Plus I love my heart rate monitor for providing some of the readings to insert into some of these apps. The only thing I haven’t tried is an item like the UP wristband, Nike Fuel or a Fit Bit and I’m dying to try one!

    Reply
  5. Katie M

    I use a Garmin 405 watch to track my running distance and pace, and using it has helped me improve and enjoy my running. I love that I always know how far I’ve traveled, and knowing my pace helps me understand when I should back off and when I should push harder.

    Reply
  6. chris b

    There are several aps that I use on my phone as well as (obviously) searching the internet to scope out and decide on my next race.

    Reply
  7. Mandy

    Until the past year the only fitness technology I used was a heart rate monitor. After starting to track my workouts with Run Keeper and using a Garmin for running I’m hooked and have found that they help keep me on track and improve my workouts. The UP would allow me to track the rest of my day and be a big help in meeting my goals!

    Reply
  8. Andrea

    Over the last year I’ve been tracking my nutrition and exercise online and via a mobile app and the results have been amazing! Being able to set goals, track progress, and look at trends has helped me make better choices, loose weight, and get in shape. I would love to try the UP wristband to continue this trend and being able to track your sleep sounds really cool and something I could use!

    Reply
  9. greeniejoey

    Technology can be good and bad. I use the fitness pal app to monitor my food intake but I also feel as though it doesn’t accurately calculate various forms of exercise. I want an UP system because its more accurate and it will help me with my fitness goals. I’m trying so hard to get fit this year and I want to have a more accurate reading and monitoring of my progress.

    Reply
  10. kristen kaufmann

    What a cool new tool!

    I constantly am relying on technology for my workouts. My Garmin Forerunner is the perfect balance of keeping me motivated (I just love that jingle at the mile mark!)and pushing me to run faster and farther. Life before the Garmin was a lot slower and a little less rewarding. Now I know the pace of each mile, the overall distance AND how many extra calories I can consume! 🙂

    … And when I am not running, I’m on the Nike Training App. Who needs a personal trainer anymore with this app around?

    Who said technology makes us lazy??

    Reply
  11. Kendra

    I currently don’t use a ton of technology for training but would love to start using it more and winning this giveaway would help me do this!

    I have been out of racing for a few years (pregnant, gave birth to twins 2.5 years ago, and have had multiple injuries since then). This is my comeback summer and I’m signed up for 5 tris. Could really use this to keep me on track!

    Reply
  12. Corey @ Learning Patience

    I never used any tech. when I started running, but since getting a Garmin – I love seeing my times, distance, splits and route online. I LOVE the DailyMile, without that site, I simply would not have been able to achieve my first half marathon last yr and would never have been able to recover from my 4 bone fusion in my rt foot during the last 6 months. AND today…I ran my 1st 2 miles since November. Seriously crying tears of happiness right now!

    Corey from Texas

    Reply
  13. This Running Mom

    I used an app on my phone when I first started counting calories to lose weight. It really helped to see it in black and white. Sometimes, I think we just need the little added push that technology gives us.

    Reply
  14. Hillary

    Technology has been present in my running with my GPS watch, but until recently, it hadn’t really crept into my “normal” life. I’ve been trying a phone app for smart sleep, but it would be great to have all of these things in one, easy-to-manage device!

    Reply
  15. Maria Swicki

    I use the internet to help track my calorie intake… I would love to get one of these! I think using this would help track my fitness goals better…

    Reply
  16. Jeff

    Technology kept me honest while I was getting started running. Forcing that information out for all of my social-sphere to see kept me going and brought encouragement when I needed it most. It also helped me realize just how many calories I used to shove into my face.

    Reply
  17. erin

    Fantastic giveaway, Hyedi! Technology has been key while training for my first iron{wo}man. I use TrainingPeaks to record and track my swimbikeruns and to communicate with my coach who lives 70 miles away. And, my Garmins… I’d be lost without them! In addition to distance, pace and time, both my Edge 500 + 910XT monitor my heart rate, on which much of my training is based. It’s been really fun to see my progress and how much my fitness has improved over the past few months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

