FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 5/13 – 5/19

Monday: Recovery day. 20 minute walk on the treadmill and 20 minutes on the stationary bike. Also did some shoulder/biceps/triceps/chest/ab mat work. I can feel my core getting strong again. Making a commitment to more consistent strength training, especially once marathon training kicks off.

Tuesday: 4 mile run on the treadmill. Total time: 36:23. Nothing too special about this run but did try to hold a more steady, slightly faster pace than I’m used to (but not quite a tempo pace) — throughout the entire run.

I’m also happy to report that my backup marathon training shoes showed up! (Finally. Not happy with Saucony right now.)

The shoes that I like never come in cool colors.

Saucony Guide 5’s.  The shoes that I like never come in cool colors.

Wednesday: Ughhhh worst run in a long time. 4.23 miles. Total time: 51:44. Started out feeling blah and with heavy legs. Then my legs and lower back started cramping up. Next, I started feeling nauseous. I had planned to do a 4 mile out-and-back so I ended up walking quite a bit on the way back with short periods of running mixed in. This felt like dehydration, but I thought I was plenty hydrated — maybe even more than usual that day.

At least the water has been turned back on!

At least the water has been turned back on along the running path!

Thursday: Squats/lunges/upper body and core work. Along with a 18.47 mile bike ride. Total time: 1:22:23. (Proud of my pace on this one — the last ride I did was 16.41 miles in 1:20. Pedestrians and stop lights can kill your pace around here.)

Not too shabby.

Not too shabby.

Friday: Rest, rest, rest, rest, rest! (Imagine me singing a little song to this.) My legs were SORE, in weird places, from the lower body strength work + bike ride the day before. After work I had lunch with a friend and then J and I went to our friends’ charity silent auction to help raise money for the MS Society.

signs

Their TRAM team is going to bike approx. 250 miles across Minnesota to raise money for MS. The silent auction was a lot of fun! I hope they raised some good funds.

Saturday: 30 minute swim with Andrea.

IMG_20130518_091354_543

The rain was pouring down when I woke up so instead of the run we were planning on, I met Andrea at her apartment building to swim in their indoor pool. I made up a little workout to keep myself entertained. It was something like this:

  • 5 minute warm up including some kicking.
  • My version of  a ladder workout doing one length of the pool (down and back), then two, repeated all the way to five and then back down to one. I made an effort to push myself and briefly rested in between.
  • Cool down

After our workout we relaxed in the hot tub for a bit.

Sunday: 12 miles. Total time: 1:58:18. I woke up to rain (again) so I headed to the gym. I knew that the treadmills only go up to 99 minutes and that wouldn’t be enough time for me to finish 12 miles (although that would be AWESOME), so after six miles I stopped my workout and then re-started it to do the second six miles. Overall the run went pretty well. I kept a nice, easy pace and my legs were feeling much fresher than earlier in the week. I took half of a GU after four miles and the other half four miles after that.

The only thing that I had a problem with was I got a blister on the arch of my left foot. This is super weird since I’ve never gotten a blister there before. Maybe my socks were weird? Or my shoe wasn’t tied tight enough? No clue.

After the run (oh, and I should mention that J had 20 miles on his schedule today and he chanced the weather and did his run outside and he totally made it without getting rained on at all!) we headed to the Twins game. I had gotten tickets through work and we had some pretty sweet seats!

IMG_20130519_122612_662

But then, the rain came:

tarp

We ended up leaving during the rain delay since I think J and I were both pretty tired from our runs. We hadn’t been to a game yet this year and while I’m a big Twins fan, I’m an even bigger fan of baseball in general. So basically the ballpark is my happy place. Felt great to catch most of the game!

How was your weekend? Do you like baseball?

 

11 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 5/13 – 5/19

  1. Danielle @ I Eat Therefore I Run

    I used to play softball, so I do enjoy going to a baseball game. I like to keep score 🙂

    My long run was only 7 miles, but still enough for me considering I haven’t done a distance like that aside from my 10km a month ago. It was good and I’m looking forward to next weekend’s longer run.

    About the hydration: you dehydration today is a result of yesterday’s lack of hydration. Many people think that hydrating the day of a race or tournament (softball for me) is how to do it, but in fact, it’s what you do the days leading up to said sporting event that are most important. My coaches would always tell us to drink lots of water the day before a big tournament in hot weather, and to continue to do so that day of. Did you drink enough water the day before your dehydrated run?

    Reply
    1. Hyedi Cribben Nelson

      That TOTALLY makes sense! I doubt that I had — especially combined with the heat that day. this is good to keep in mind. I think I had learned that at some point, but completely forgot!

      I used to play softball, too. I actually kind of miss it! Too bad we don’t live closer to one another 🙂 We could start a team!

      Nice job on your long run!

      Reply
  2. Amy

    12 miles on a treadmill is impressive! And I agree about the shoe color thing…I almost never love my running shoe color combinations!

    I can handle baseball for a few innings, but then I start getting antsy. BUT I do really like hanging out in professional sports stadiums.

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Oooo the 6s come in prettier colors 🙂 Let me know what you think! And thanks again for the recommendation — loving the Sauconys!

      Reply
  3. Caitlin

    i enjoy a baseball game every now and then but more so to chill in the sun, not to watch the game, haha! though i do enjoy the fun crowd games like the 7th inning stretch and a good wave if it can get goin!
    looks like a nice week of a good mix of diff workouts plus rest. you do a good job of switching it up!

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Thanks! It’s been tough (I know you can relate to this) not thinking that every workout needs a cardio component. I’m really enjoying the variety!

      Reply
  4. Hillary

    1) I’m the queen of missing the rain when I decide to use the treadmill, or hitting the rain when I decide to chance it.

    2) Thanks for reminding me that I should probably order some new shoes.

    3) The treadmills at my gym only go for 60 minutes, which makes running anything more than 7 miles a big pain in the butt. I tried explaining this problem to non-runner friends once and just trailed off mid-story because I realized how horribly dull and weird that story was… so I’m glad I can now commiserate. 🙂

    Reply
  5. erin

    SO impressed you ran 12 miles on the dreadmill! Nice job!

    And, I need to get to a Twins game soon! I’m not a huge baseball fan, but I do enjoy an afternoon at Target Field and a brat 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

