My marathon goal + June training

Happy National Running Day!

I might as well put it out there: after Sunday’s race, I’ve officially decided to train with the goal of finishing the Twin Cities Marathon in under 4 hours. I know that I have a long way to go, and come race day, my goal might change, but for now that’s what I’ve decided to train for. If I do it, I will be shaving 50 minutes off of my marathon time. SO with that said, my training schedule for the month of June is going to look something like this:

This week: taking it easy. I was sore after the half so I broke down and got a massage on Monday and I feel like it’s a good idea to just let my body heal this week. (Except for that 5K I’m racing on Saturday.) I’m thinking just a couple of very short runs, similar to last week and some strength training and yoga.

Side note: I found a new massage therapist and I think I’m in love. More on that next week.

Next week (6/10) – also taking it easy, but more miles than the last week and hopefully getting out on my bike. But no speed work. Will get in strength training and more yoga.

Week of 6/17 – marathon training officially kicks off! I have three slow 4 milers and a 8 mile long run at a steady pace (9:20-9:40). We’ll be in Duluth during this week for J’s marathon, so I will likely be doing at least one of my runs while up there.

Week of 6/24 – 4 miles + intervals, 6 mi + intervals, a 4 mile slow run and a 10 mi steady pace (9:20-9:40). For the plan I’m following, the  days where I have intervals it’s typically something like a 4  or 6 mile slow run then finish with 20 seconds fast, 2:00 slow, and so on.

Speaking of training plans, I’ve decided to follow the RunKeeper sub-4:00 marathon plan. My husband is using a RunKeeper plan for his training and he really likes it. I’m a big Hal Higdon fan, but looking forward to trying something new. Plus — and this is the part I’m really excited about — with the RunKeeper app on my super fancy Droid Razr, all of my training is just right on my phone.

Screenshot_2013-06-04-18-03-43

Another thing I really like about the RunKeeper plans is that there is a real guy who’s a real running coach who put them together and when you email him — he responds! And in a timely fashion! And they’re free! I also like that for each workout, he gives a little explanation for why you’re doing it. For example:

Screenshot_2013-06-04-18-03-35

All of my steady pace runs will be at a 9:20-9:40 pace and my tempos/intervals will be a variety of 8:00-8:50 paces. There isn’t a specified slow pace given, so I plan to listen to how my body feels and go with that, but nothing faster than 9:40 pace. Somewhere around 10 min/mi probably. (I cannot believe that this is going to be my “slow” pace over the next 16 weeks. Oofda.) But if anyone wants to weigh in with a more expert opinion on what my slow pace should be — please do! I think McMillan says it should be somewhere between 9:15-10:33.

Looking ahead, the workouts that are especially daunting to me right now are the tempos. I started incorporating tempo runs with half marathon training, but the mileage never got that high. I will also need to take a closer look at the August workouts because I have a half planned and also Ragnar that month.

Bottom line: this summer is going to be all about staying injury free and doing what my body is telling me to do. Running fast is one thing, but making it to the start line healthy is pretty darn important.

What training plans have you used and liked/disliked?

Who else is training for a fall marathon? Which one?
http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm
Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

14 thoughts on “My marathon goal + June training

  1. Katie

    Oooo. I also am a hal higdon fan, but keep posting about run keeper and I might have to make a switch! I’m not signed up for the TC marathon yet….although I think at some point I will attempt it! (just maybe not this year) I’d like to get in the lottery for the 10 miler!

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Thank you! It’ll be busy but I think it’ll feel more manageable than last summer 🙂

      Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      You should! I’m sure it’s not for everyone, but there’s a lot to like about it 🙂

      Reply
  2. erin

    Love your approach to it! Listening to your body is so important. And, I know without a doubt you will run a sub four! So excited for you and can’t wait to follow your training (and, hopefully, get a run or three in together)!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Reader Roundup (Crappy pics and some cool events)

  4. Melissa

    I’m confused – isn’t RunKeeper a monthly fee-based program? Or is there something I’m missing? If it’s free, I’d love to check it out!

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Hmm, I’m not sure. I think RunKeeper does have a paid option with more features but I use the free one!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Whirlwind week + Running as a SoleMate | Finding a Balance

  6. Pingback: Here we go again: what I learned from marathon training | Finding a Balance

  7. Pingback: My favorite fitness apps | Finding a Balance

Leave a Reply

