Seeking Salt

Growing up and into early adulthood, I was sick pretty often. Nothing serious, but if there was a cold or strep going around, I was bound to catch it. I think it had a lot to do with a weaker immune system since I was born premature and had pneumonia (either born with it or contracted right away after being born).

Once I got older, I had a lot of chronic sinus infections, bronchitis, etc. (I have lots of theories about why this was the case – including high stress levels, eating processed foods, and so on.) And now as an adult I have pretty severe seasonal allergies. Not too long ago, my mother-in-law got me a Himalyan Salt Inhaler and I did a bunch of research on the effects of Himalayan Crystal Salt and salt therapy. THEN I saw a Groupon the other day for a salt therapy treatment at The Salt Cave.

From the website: the Salt Cave is Minnesota’s first therapeutic salt cave. Discover the benefits of salt therapy (also known as halotherapy), which has been used for centuries to alleviate symptoms of asthma, allergies, respiratory problems, anxiety and other ailments

Um. I think I’m the perfect candidate.

So I bought the Groupon and am going for my session tonight! I’m going with my friend Megan and her friend, Laura. I’m super excited and it sounds SO relaxing.

They also hold meditation and massage sessions and yoga in the Salt Cave. Anyways, I think this sounds really cool and I’m looking forward to reporting back.

Have you heard of the benefits of Himalayan Crystal Salt or salt therapy? Have you experienced it for yourself?

6 thoughts on “Seeking Salt

    1. It was really cool! I think you really only get the full benefits if you go on a consistent basis. But it was really relaxing!

    1. It was very relaxing and a super cool experience! With that said, I think the “treatments” could be less expensive or for the price they want to charge, I think you should be in a more private or semi-private setting so that it’s more relaxing. I also think it’s something you need to do consistently to get all of the benefits!

Leave a Reply

