Fitbit Fail — Fixed!

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm

Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

So we all know that things don’t always work out the way you want or expect them to, but what I’ve been working on lately is being OK with the fact that those things DO happen and then (especially when they’re out of your control) figuring out how to move forward and not dwell on things. I have more thoughts on this, but my most recent less serious example of this is something I like to call “The Fitbit fail.”

Fitbit!
Fitbit!

As a Verizon Voices Ambassador, you might recall that one of the devices I am getting to try out is the Fitbit One. I was (and still am) ecstatic about this because I love love LOVE tracking things and the Fitbit is so much smaller and more high tech than the old pedometer I used to wear around. And the other tracking features were really appealing, too.

But a couple of weeks ago, I had to contact Fitbit support because my tracker would just randomly stop responding to movement. I had already done some troubleshooting on my own, but the suggested “quick fix” of resetting the device would only solve the problem for a couple of days and then it’d start happening again. Frustrating. And none of the other VZW Voices bloggers seemed to be having any problems.

My frustration didn’t last long, because as soon as I reached out to their support team I was super impressed with how quickly they responded and after some more troubleshooting, they offered to replace my device. Together, with the wonderful folks at Verizon, I received my brand new Fitbit just a couple of days later and I’m back in action! And I’m happy to report that I’m not having any of the issues I was having before.

Now that I’m back up and running, I’ve been a little bit obsessed.

12miles
After my 12 mile run.
This is what running 12 miles and going to a baseball game will get you.
This is what running 12 miles and then going to a baseball game will get you.

And I love earning badges!

IMG_20130521_101653

So, basically my point is that while I think it’s cool to try different products, things can go wrong — malfunctions and s*** happens, so good customer service is essential. Because it’s much easier to just get annoyed and dwell on the disappointment of a dysfunctional product if the company doesn’t want to help you solve the problem.

Do you agree? Do you have any stories about stellar/terrible customer service?

7 thoughts on “Fitbit Fail — Fixed!

  1. I agree, if you have time to speak to customer sevice. I found that my FR60 Garmin with footpod instead of GPS has totally failed me and is incredibly inaccurate. In pursuing a refund with the company, and having to look in my bank accounts for proof of the purchase, I discovered some other huge issues that took up my time this past week rather than speaking to Garmin people on the phone. I will post more about it when I get precious time (of which I have none until next Saturday at 11:30 am UK time) 🙂

    1. Ughhhh that’s awful and annoying!

      I actually handled all of my issues through email (how I prefer to handle stuff 🙂 but I know a lot of companies aren’t responsive to email.

  2. We have had the same experience with Fitbit customer service. We ordered it (Fitbit One) for my mom when they first came out a few years ago. She’s obsessed with hers, currently on her 3rd one because she keeps losing hers, wearing it in the pond, running it over with her car, etc. We had a few problems in the past and customer service has been so quick & helpful! I’m getting her the Flex for her birthday this year!!

    1. That’s awesome to hear that others have had similar great experiences with them! You’ll have to let me know how she likes the Flex — a lot of people have asked me about that model!

  3. I’m totally trying to learn to not dwell on things (current example: my recent bike at liberty). It’s a work in progress, and every day I consciously try move forward. Baby steps, but it’s getting better 🙂

    That’s some great customer service! Glad to hear they sent you a new fitbit so quickly!

Leave a Reply

