How to make pizza on the grill + FAB Foods for the Week

Saturday:

Lunch was a bed of spinach with leftover broccoli fritters mashed up on top, along with tomato and mushrooms.

IMG_20130601_115650_295

For dinner, my hubby made me stroganoff for my pre-race meal! Not the prettiest meal…but delicious!

IMG_20130601_182728_477

Sunday:

After the race my stomach felt slightly off so I was cautious about eating anything but I eventually had some leftover stroganoff before leaving for a graduation party. I was feeling better once we got there, so at the party I had a walking taco AND a pulled pork sandwich. Of course. 🙂

Monday:

I worked from home on Monday and perhaps the best part of working from home is not having to pack a lunch!

Breakfast was a new Chobani Flips flavor: key lime pie!

My favorite so far.
My favorite so far.

I also enjoyed some snacks — the string cheese I got from my race and a banana, along with tea in my favorite tea-drinking mug.

snakc

Lunch and dinner were both a random smorgasboard of leftovers.

Tuesday:

Pizza on the grill! Recipe below.

Wednesday:

New Chobani Flip flavor for breakfast (Peachy Pistachio) which didn’t quite fill me up and was ultimately a bad idea because when the bagels showed up at work, I couldn’t resist!

Lunch was a sushi date with KK and Liz!

I ordered the Boston roll, spicy tuna roll and the spicy snow crab roll. (I can eat a lot of sushi.)
I ordered the Boston roll, spicy tuna roll and the spicy snow crab roll. (I can eat a lot of sushi.)

Thursday:

Monthly breakfast at Panera with my friend, Whit. I went with their new breakfast sandwich (So new I couldn’t even find it on their online menu) and a coffee.

panera

Baker’s Square for dinner with a friend. Exciting news is best shared over pie!!!!!

In a moment of ordering panic, I went with blueberry
In a moment of ordering panic, I went with blueberry

Friday: Delicious lunch with my awesome boss and satisfied my (constant) craving for egg roll noodle salad.

bun

It was another week of eating out for too many meals but I did bring my lunch two days this week and ate at home on Monday for lunch. Next week I’m aiming to only buy my lunch one day. Totally do-able.

On Tuesday, I made one of my husband’s and my favorite summer meals — pizza on the grill. This time, however, I went with more traditional toppings. But that’s the beauty — you can make it very different each time!

This experience made me realize that I’m not meant to be a food blogger (or at least one that creates her own recipes very often). I’m happy to keep taking pretty pictures at restaurants though. So anyways, let me know if the directions are confusing! I also can’t wait until we remodel our kitchen so I have a better backdrop to work with…
pizza
Pizza on the grill

Serves: 2-4

Ingredients

ingredients

1 package of Trader Joe’s refrigerated pizza dough. (I’ve also used Byerly’s/Lunds dough and it worked well)

1 jar of pizza sauce

2 T Butter or ghee, melted

1 tsp minced garlic

Other topping suggestions:

Proscuitto

Mushrooms

Goat cheese

Mozzerella cheese

Arugula (I like to wait until after it’s done grilling and then add it fresh on top)

You will also need one of these:

beer

Just kidding.

Step one:

We have a charcoal grill so as soon as I start getting the coals ready, I get my pizza dough out of the fridge and set it on the counter. It really does need to sit out for about 20 minutes, otherwise it’ll be a nightmare to work with.

Step two:

Flour a surface to roll out the dough. I cut the dough in half and form two balls – one for each pizza crust.

dough

Start by rolling out one of the crusts, using as much flour as you need. Once you have it to your desired size and thickness, prepare a piece of aluminum foil by spraying it with cooking spray. After spraying the foil, place the rolled out piece of pizza dough on it. Brush the melted butter/garlic over the crust.

Step three:

Once the coals/grill are ready, put the piece of foil with the pizza crust right on the grate. Cover. Keep an eye on it – it won’t take long. As soon as bubbles start to form on the crust, take it off the grill.

bubbles

Flip the crust over and brush the grilled side with your butter/garlic mixture.  The ungrilled side should now be face down. Then, add your toppings.

butter

Step four:

After the pizza is ready with all of the toppings you want, place the pizza on the foil back onto the grill. Cover. How long it takes this time depends on how hot the coals are and how thick your crust is. I’d say it usually takes me about 4-7 minutes to be done. You can be sure if it’s ready by making sure your cheese is melted and the bottom of the crust should have grill marks. Enjoy!

final

 

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

3 thoughts on “How to make pizza on the grill + FAB Foods for the Week

  1. Pizza on the BBQ looks interesting, will have to try it!

    You’re so lucky to live in a big city with a plethora of delicious restaurants with different foods. Here in rural Scotland, we have a plethora of cafes serving roughly the same thing: soup, sandwiches, paninis, baguettes, baked potatoes (all with same toppings/fillings), macaroni and cheese, hot specials like burgers or fish and chips. For desserts, cakes and tray bakes. Mostly delicious, but always the same. I miss my Asian foods!

    1. I am really lucky. I grew up in a small town in Wisconsin and it was exactly like that. Pretty much no ethnic foods at all either. When I visit my hometown now, I’m jealous because it has grown a lot since when I was growing up, but it’s still not like the Cities 🙂

      Do you have any trips to the States planned?! 🙂

  2. Pizza on the grill?! Brilliant! Nick and I have been grilling almost every night, so this needs to happen soon! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

