FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 6/10 – 6/16

Well this week was a little bit better than last week but still low on the run mileage.

Monday

Thanks to Carrie Tollefson for this workout. I’ve never been a fan of the elliptical but this keeps it interesting and gets your heart rate up there! I made it more challenging by not holding onto the handlebars.

10 min warm up – level 8

4 min interval – level 10 / 2 min recovery – level 8

2 min interval – level 10 / 1 min recovery – level 8 ( I skipped the 3 min interval/1.5 minute recovery due to lack of time)

1 min interval – level 10 / 30 sec recovery – level 8

Repeated

10 min cool down – level 8

Tuesday: 2 mile run. Run time – 20:15. Average pace of 10:08.

I had a 13 hour work day ahead of me so I got this one out of the way before work. Shin pain was gone but my calves were still really tight. Thanks for everyone’s thoughts on The Stick! My friend texted me that she has an extra one that I can have for marathon training!

Wednesday: Upper body/core circuit

Nothing too exciting here. Although I can tell that I’m getting stronger. It’s easier to get through my reps and I’m less fatigued at the end of those reps.

Thursday: Rest day. Loooooong day at work and still not recovered from the long day at work on Tuesday that started with a run before work.

Friday: Upper body/core circuit and 1.10 mile walk.

Threw in a few extra planks. I might start working towards trying to hold a 5 minute plank

Saturday: Elliptical workout again. This time I had time for the 3 minute interval/1.5 minute recovery.

10 min warm up and cool down at level 8.

4, 3, 2, 1 min intervals at level 10 with 2, 1.5, 1, 30 sec recovery at level 8 and repeated. Avg Hr = 151

After the gym the hubs and I headed up to his dad and stepmom’s for their neighbor’s son’s graduation party. It’s about an hour drive to his parents’ house and I thought it’d be a good time to get some studying done. I officially take the certification exam on November 22 and I have a lot to do before then! ACE has some really great videos that supplement the textbook but I needed an internet connection to watch the one I needed to. No problem! I brought my iPad along and then used the hot spot on my Droid Razr HD to get my studying done in the car.

Sunday: 3 mile run/15 minute swim. Run time – 20:56. Average pace of 9:39. Swim was approximately 1/3 mile.

Lovely Sunday. Met my friend at her gym for a workout and then some relaxation. We both belong to Lifetime Fitness but the similarities end there. She belongs to a seriously fancy Lifetime Fitness. Check it out:

(Photo courtesy of Lifetime Fitness)
(Photo courtesy of Lifetime Fitness)
(Photo courtesy of Lifetime Fitness)
(Photo courtesy of Lifetime Fitness)

First, we hopped on treadmills to get a quick run in.
ltf
Then I got some laps in before lounging by the pool. It was a gorgeous day out — 80 and sunny!
pool
This Lifetime has an outdoor Life Cafe, in addition to their regular one inside of the club, so you can order food poolside. We ordered turkey wraps (yummy chunks of turkey instead of deli meat and was served in a sprouted grain tortilla — delicious!) Then I headed home and got some things done around the yard with the hubs.

Since it was so nice out we decided to get Sea Salt but when we got there we realized that everyone else in Minneapolis had the same idea. (I’ve seen long lines there before, but nothing like this.) Plus, the skies were turning stormy, so we decided to head to my favorite Vietnamese restaurant, Quang, instead. Perfect!

Mmm, bubble tea.
Mmm, bubble tea.

Marathon training kicks off tomorrow and I can’t wait!

How were your workouts this past week? Do you belong to or have you worked out at a fancy gym?

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htmDisclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

6 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 6/10 – 6/16

  1. great job throwing in that extra plank practice! it’s such an easy exercise to fit into the beginning, middle, or end of a workout. keep me posted on how you progress! also, i’ve seen fitfluential ambassadors review lifetime fitness facilities and they seriously look SOOO nice! i wish there was one near me.

    1. It’s Chanhassen. I know — I went to the SLP one when I did an indoor tri last year and was super impressed by that one too!

  2. I need to swim in that pool… wow, it’s beautiful!

    Great week of workouts! I’ve never been a fan of the elliptical, either, but her workouts sound good!

    Glad you found a stick! You’ll be hooked 🙂

    How does Quang compare to Ngon?

    1. Hmm, I would say that Quang is more just straight Vietnamese without as much of the obvious French fusion….I think I like them equally, but for different reasons 🙂

Leave a Reply

