Here we go again: what I learned from marathon training

This morning I ran 4 “slow” miles and with that I kicked off training for my second marathon.

As I’ve been enjoying some lazy days the past couple of weeks, I’ve given some thought to how I plan to approach this training cycle and what I plan to do differently from the first time:

Stick to the plan

Looking back at my DailyMile entries and blog posts last summer I saw a lot of “ended up taking a rest day” or “ended up only doing three miles instead of five.” Now I’m not going to go as far as my husband has (he hasn’t missed ONE workout this training cycle or cut any runs short) and I’ll continue to listen to my body/be flexible, but unless I have a really good reason, I’ll be sticking to my training schedule — no excuses.

CrossΒ train but also don’t train for a triathlon at the same time

For the first month of my marathon training, I was also training for my first ever triathlon. In order to fit in all of the biking and swimming, I would sometimes skip or shorten a run. I think I missed out on valuable mileage base building in that month. This time around I plan to get in plenty of cross training activities, but not let it get in the way of my running.

Have a goal in mind

I went into my first marathon like a lot of other people do — with a goal of just finishing. This made it extremely hard (for me) to stay focused during training and on race day. With a sub-4:00 goalΒ to work towards, I think it’ll help me stay focused and motivated throughout the summer and come October 6.

Some things I plan to keep the same

Clean diet (for the most part): I will not be doing any Whole30s or anything during this training cycle, but my diet needs some cleaning up and marathon training is a great reason to do so. However, I do plan to let myself reap the benefits (in moderation) of burning a ton of calories on long run days (read: Izzy’s ice cream and Blue Door Pub burgers).

Do yoga: planning to take advantage of some free outdoor yoga this summer!

Consistent massage: Now that I’ve found a new massage therapist that I like, I hope that consistent massage will help keep me injury free!

Have you approached training cycles differently based on what you learned the first time around?

 

 

11 thoughts on “Here we go again: what I learned from marathon training

  1. Yay marathon training! I think you have some good goals in mind, and I think you can hit a sub-4 pretty easily (well, not easily, since nothing about 20 mile runs is easy, but you can definitely do it). I actually did everything right the first time, so I think my lessons came from my 2nd time.

  2. Love this post πŸ™‚ So many good tips. Don’t be too hard on yourself for taking off days when you need them though. I’m on the fence right now about training for a marathon this year. I really really want to get my time closer to 4 hours. Can’t wait to hear about your journey.

    1. I totally agree. Actually, when I re-read this post I realized it came off a bit strict. I will definitely take days off if my body is telling me to πŸ™‚

      What marathon do you have your eye on if you end up doing one?

    1. Thanks so much, Danielle! Yes, of course — thanks for thinking of me. And can’t wait to read your post πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, I’m so glad you’ve done this before. I’m tattooing these all to my arm for handy reference as I do this thing. πŸ™‚

  4. Love this post + good tips, Hyedi! Building a solid run base is key… I think you’re well on your way to that already! I, too, need to incorporate consistent massage into my training. For some reason, that’s the hardest part for me.

    So excited for you as your embark on marathon training again!

Leave a Reply

