FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 6/24 – 6/30

I’m sure you’ve heard this a million times by now but GOOGLE READER IS GOING AWAY! Use the handy button on the right to subscribe to my blog through Bloglovin’!

Monday: strength training, stretching and rolling

I hit the gym over my lunch hour to get in a quick upper body/core circuit and finished my workout with some stretching and foam rolling.

Tuesday: 5 miles. 10:00, 9:50, 9:40, 9:31

After my four miles I ran 20 seconds at 7:53, 7:35,7:35, 7:35 with 2:00 in between each interval at 9:40. Did this one on the treadmill before work. Felt great!

Wednesday: Rest day

Over the lunch hour some of my co-workers and I went to the soft opening of Sandcastle, the new concession stand (but oh so much more than that) at Lake Nokomis. Other than some hiccups that are to be expected at a soft opening, it was fun and the food was good. I’ll be posting a full review of Sandcastle soon.

When we were finishing up our lunch, it started downpouring out of nowhere. So by the time we got back to our cars we were SOAKED. I worked the rest of the day from home considering my now clingy maxi dress wasn’t really work appropo and I was freezing from the AC in our building. Then after work, I got my steps/exercise in by mowing the lawn 🙂

That night, I picked up my cousin at the hotel she’s staying at and we went to the Smack Shack for dinner!

Lobster guacamole. I die.
Lobster guacamole. I die.

I also had a Fulton Rye Saison and a soft shell crab roll. Delish!

Thursday: 6.01 miles. 10:13, 9:46, 10:20, 10:04, 10:46, 11:47 (ouch)

I’m not quite sure what happened but this wasn’t a good run right from the start. My calves just wouldn’t loosen up for well over the first two miles. I kept stopping to stretch so I wouldn’t give up and walk home or have J come pick me up. Finally, I found a bench and took my shoes off and re-tied them. This surprisingly helped a bit but then my hamstrings started giving me issues. Everything was just off for this entire run. I was tired, my legs felt so heavy and my heart rate was way high. But I made it all six miles and I guess that’s what counts? Anyways — this is how I felt about this run:

Thumbs down.
Thumbs down.

Friday: Hour long personal training session

Today was all about strengthening and stretching. We warmed up the legs on the Pilates Reformers and then warmed up the arms on the KrankCycle. Then it was back to the Reformer for arm and core work. I think I’m finally starting to like pilates!

Plank on the Reformer
Plank on the Reformer

IMG_20130628_081321_623

I’m absolutely LOVING personal training. Dawn is so knowledgeable and keeps our fitness goals in mind and always ties things back to running. I’m already feeling stronger after week two!

Saturday: 10 miles @ 9:47 pace (#virtual10miler)

 

Sunday: 8.66 mile bike ride (4.33 each way to and from work). Total time – 48:25

The weather today couldn’t have gotten much better. A high of 82 degrees, sunny and with a light breeze. I got up early and got some stuff done around the house, vacuumed out my car, dropped off a bunch of stuff to Goodwill and got froyo with Andrea.

cake batter and salted caramel froyo with waffle cone and heath pieces and strawberries!
cake batter and salted caramel froyo with waffle cone and heath pieces and strawberries!

Before I knew it, it was time to leave for work. I wasn’t positive how long it’d take to bike (on my Huffy, circa 1998) so I wanted to leave plenty early. We were really busy but it was a great first shift! But I do know that I’m way too old to work two jobs — I came home and crashed right away. It’s going to be an interesting summer 🙂

post-work ceviche and a beer
post-work ceviche and a beer

Next week: cabin week! Planning on a run on Tuesday and Thursday and then a long run when we get home on Sunday!

3 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 6/24 – 6/30

  1. the seafood & beer combos mentioned in this post have me hankering for both! lobster guac and saison?! be still my heart!
    i really enjoy pilates but have never tried it on the reformer. i love personal training, i’ve had a few sessions at this point and cannot wait for my next one. plus you get more out of it than just the one session because you can take the moves you learn and do them on your own later!
    sorry about the bad run. hate those workouts that just never quite get there. good thing the next one is usually good!

  2. Awesome week of training, friend! Everyone has those crappy runs… I bonked on the last three miles of my long run, and it wasn’t pretty. All I wanted to do was lay down in the grass along Summit 🙂

    Pilates = yes. We definitely need to take a class!

    Smack Shack looks amazing! Next date night for Nick and I for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

