Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My favorite fitness apps

7 Comments

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm

Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

Now that I’ve had the chance to really get used to and use my Droid Razr HD For the past few months, I thought it’d be a good time to do a post about my favorite fitness apps that I use all of the time on the phone.

My “Get Fit” folder on my home screen

Screenshot_2013-07-02-07-55-36

Favorite fitness app #1: FitBit

I know I talk about it a lot, but I’ve fallen in love with my FitBit and the app makes it even better — I love its clean look! There’s a ton of information to analyze, but it’s not overwhelming. I’ve been really looking at my sleep patterns lately and one thing I’ve noticed is that it takes me around 7 minutes, on average, to fall asleep at night, but on Sunday nights it takes me about 3x as long to fall asleep. Makes sense, given the anxiety I typically get on Sundays about the upcoming work week.

Screenshot_2013-06-18-21-57-44

Favorite fitness app #2: RunKeeper

I’ve used RunKeeper for awhile now, but it’s become even more of a favorite app for me since I started using one of their training plans for my current marathon training cycle.

The app has a page with some great stats:

Screenshot_2013-07-02-07-56-13

 

And then all of your upcoming and past workouts are on another screen:

Screenshot_2013-07-02-07-56-25

Favorite fitness app #3: GymPact

You all know my love for GymPact by now. In case you’re unfamiliar, check out my post about it.

I’ve used my funds so far mainly towards race entries and Lululemon. The app got a recent facelift and looks awesome! Plus, they’ve been really working on some of their bug issues and upping their support/customer service capabilities.

Screenshot_2013-07-02-07-56-57

Because it’s so fast, I’ve started using my Droid for pretty much everything besides texting and incoming calls.

More on my thoughts about the Droid vs. my iPhone to come!

What are your favorite fitness apps?

7 thoughts on “My favorite fitness apps

  1. Cannot wait to read a droid vs. iphone report! I’ve got a droid right now, but am more than likely switching when the next iphone becomes available.

  2. Love that fitbit tracks your sleep and how quickly you fall asleep! You’re not alone on Sunday nights… I, too, get anxious about the work week and have trouble getting my Zzzzs. Looking forward to reading the Droid / iPhone comparison (though I don’t think I’ll ever give up my iPhone!)!

  3. I don’t use a ton of exercise apps, so reading this post was helpful to see what all is out there! I do use Nike+ GPS for when I run alone. I have it sinked with my iTunes and can hit on a “power song” if I need an extra boost. However, I don’t use the app when I’m running with people or in races. I have my Garmin to keep track of pace when I’m running with friends or in a race and I actually find that I perform better during races without music. Luckily, I find participating in races entertaining enough that I don’t miss having music to help pass the miles.

    • I totally feel the same way re: not having music during races. It also helps me pay attention and absorb things which comes in handy when trying to write race recaps later 🙂

  4. Exercise apps are helpful! I personally have been hooked onto logging runs and activities on http://www.motivade.com which has an android app so far and is more of a social fitness network and motivator platform. I have found the motivade app to be amazing! its available on google play on http://bit.ly/121gefn

Leave a Reply

