FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 7/1 – 7/7

Monday: Rest day

My monthly massage couldn’t have come at a better time. My calves, shoulders, neck and left foot needed some special attention.

Tuesday: 2 miles. 8:57, 8:34

I had four miles on the schedule but my foot was still bothering me and since I was also short on time, I decided to get in a quick run over my lunch hour.

Wednesday: one hour personal training session.

What a fun, booty kicking session! We warmed up on the KrankCycle and RealRyder and then did some upper body strength work with dumbbells and the Reformer.

IMG_4477

We also spent some time on the rowing machine! My first time using one ever.

rowing

Finally, Dawn tortured us with walking lunges and then some ab work on the Pilates Reformer.

After a quick shower, I was off to work for a super busy morning. When 11:30 rolled around, I headed home, finished packing and then signed back into my work email once we got in the car to head up to the cabin. I got a lot of work done and the car ride flew by! (Thanks to my Droid Razr HD hot spot!)

Thursday: 5.12 miles. 8:52, 8:38, 8:42, 13:35, 9:53

Beautiful day for a run!
Beautiful day for a run!

Ummmm, so funny/not funny story about this run. I had a one mile slow warm up, three fast miles (8:40-8:50 pace) and then a one mile slow cool down on the schedule. After a (too much fun) first night at the cabin, I woke up feeling like I had been hit by a few cars. So John, Andrea and I drove to the trail head and headed out, all of us feeling less than stellar. I started out with John, who runs much faster than I, and decided to at least try to get my fast miles out of the way, in case I bonked.

I’ve had a few pretty poor runs recently so I was excited that on this run, my legs were finally feeling back to normal. Too bad the rest of me felt so awful. Right before mile 2.5, I came upon a pretty big hill and that’s when things went downhill quickly. My stomach started gurgling and cramping. I spent mile 4 running .2 miles and then walking. Since I was doing an out and back route, and by this point, Andrea and John had both finished their runs and were waiting for me, I forced myself to run (slowly) the rest of the way. I guess a combination of beer and shots, eating birthday cake at midnight and little sleep isn’t the best combination the night before a run. (of course, I knew this but chose to ignore the voice in my head telling me that I should take it easy because of my run in the morning!)

IMG_4491
Great combination.

Friday: Glorious rest day at the cabin spent playing yard games and on the boat.

IMG_4517

IMG_4513

IMG_4522

IMG_4487

Saturday: Another rest day

Was contemplating a nice, long walk but the weather didn’t cooperate so we spent some time doing a lot of this:

cribbage
My first 24-point hand followed by another 24-point hand later in the weekend!

Sunday: 11.02 miles. 10:49 average pace. 10:25, 10:32, 10:31, 10:40, 9:58, 9:36, 11:10, 11:47, 11:26, 11:25, 11:27

I knew this was going to be tough from the start and it probably wasn’t a great way to mentally prepare myself. We left the cabin around 9:30 a.m. and after getting home a little after 1 p.m., we unloaded the car and I changed into my running clothes and headed out in the 91 degree weather for my 11 miles.

I decided to do the entire run outside and planned my route to include a stop to pick up my first paycheck from my part time job — woot! I also decided to wear my fuel belt for this run and I’m so glad I did.

The familiar leg fatigue/tight calves feeling came back immediately as I set out on this run. I’m not sure why the legs felt so good on Thursday? And just when my legs were finally starting to feel loosened up, the heat started getting to me. Once I finally picked up my paycheck, I asked for a glass of ice water and poured a few of the ice cubes down my shirt. I’m pretty sure it’s going to take a little bit to get used to running in this type of weather again.

I had a couple of good miles after that ice water break but then it was right back to feeling terrible again. There was also a lot of negative self talk going on in my head which needs to STOP. NOW. I forced myself to do a combination of running/walking the rest of the way instead of calling J to come pick me up like I wanted to. So it was slow and painful — but I made it.

91

 

After the run, while doing legs up the wall, I started coughing and realized that I wasn’t able to take deep breaths without a tightness and ache in my lungs. And then I saw this tweet:

Awesome.
Awesome. So that explains it.

If I would’ve known, I would have opted for the treadmill. Oh well — lesson learned.

How’d your workouts go for the past week? Do you play cribbage?

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm

Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

5 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 7/1 – 7/7

  1. Awesome job for sticking it out on your long run even though you wanted to quit! My week was a bit out of order, but I managed to get all my runs in…. Including a late Friday night long run followed by a 10K race a few hours later on Saturday morning.

    1. Thanks, Kim! Nice job getting all of your runs in! Sometimes I have to go out of order too, to make it all fit in 🙂

  2. Your cabin looks heavenly and so relaxing… glad you’re able to spend weekends up there to recharge 🙂

    Boo for the hot 11-miler, but good for you for toughing it out and finishing! I’ve been a bit intimidated by my long runs lately (especially since they’ve been solo), but have found if I embrace each moment, each footstep, they actually are pretty enjoyable, even when it’s 90 degrees outside. Yesterday’s mantra: It always seems impossible until it is done. It powered me through the last two really tough miles! Stay positive, friend… you’re doing awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

