Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My #FavoriteRun

14 Comments

I saw this idea on Miss Zippy and Marcia’s Healthy Slice blogs and decided to give it a shot πŸ™‚ So — join me on my favorite run!

My favorite run is first thing in the morning — before the rest of the world is awake.

I step out of my front door, start my Garmin (and RunKeeper), leave the music at home and head towards the river.

My run is just under six miles in total and takes me through both St. Paul and Minneapolis.

The first couple of miles are on walking/running paths and take me alongside the Mississippi River.

cD8TSt5OgglpOuG9m0hACG31

I cross the bridge and am treated to a beautiful sight:

Frozen river.

Frozen river.

Now I make my way alongside the river again — this time on the St. Paul side.Β There’s a hill that at one time I used to dread and now (depending on the day) I barely notice it.

On many days, there is a slight cooling breeze that always makes me feel so alive as I cross another bridge. I notice this usually makes me pick up the pace too πŸ™‚
IMG_2188

photo-78

I’m back in Minneapolis now, almost home, and climb the stairs back up to the main running path:

stairs

 

The post-run feeling I get from my #favoriterun is perhaps just as great as while I’m running. It feels so good to get to my desk at work knowing that I started my day doing something that I love to do.

Running in Boston, Chicago, South Carolina and other “exotic places” were unforgettable experiences, but this run, one I do so often, is familiar and comforting to me.

What’s your favorite run?

 

14 thoughts on “My #FavoriteRun

  1. this is a fun idea! i don’t really have a favorite run since i don’t run but i suppose my favorite place to run is newport, RI. it’s just so beautiful there.

    • Mmm I really need to spend more time on the east coast. I’ve been to Boston and NYC but nowhere else. Sounds lovely!

  2. Ooo. I like this idea! I think my favorite run is the Lakewalk up in Duluth!

  3. I do a lot of running along the lake in Dallas with my running group. There are days when the sun is either rising or setting just right that it is magical!

  4. My favorite run is running the Greenway from behind Calhoun to the Twins Stadium, around the stadium and back. It’s a great route for half marathon training, and although the Greenway can get boring, I love coming around the last loop and seeing Target Field. My second favorite would be running the Calhoun and Harriet loop.

  5. Such a lovely view, wished I lived near a running path like that. I love to run first thing in the morning since it’s cooler out and there’s less chance of me finding an excuse to skip the run.

  6. That looks like a fantastic run! Love the combo of urban and nature in there. Thanks for linking up!

  7. Such a neat idea! I can imagine running this as I close my eyes πŸ™‚ My favorite run: As much as I do it and as boring as it can be, it’s probably running down Summit (especially during the fall). I never tire of the houses, and I swear notice another beautiful home on every run.

Leave a Reply

