Music makes the world go ’round.

Since I was young, I’ve long been obsessed with music. Listening to it, attempting to play it, you name it. And my musical tastes are all over the map. My absolute favorite band ever is Radiohead but I also love a good ke$ha dance party every once in awhile. I grew up listening to country (because that’s what everyone in Wisconsin listens to) and yes, I went through a BSB/N Sync phase. I associate many of my memories throughout life with certain artists or songs  (most recently, my husband and I walking down the aisle at our wedding to Foo Fighters’ “Everlong” and The White Stripes “We’re going to be friends”) and I’ve bonded with some of my closest friends through music.

It might not come as a surprise then that I entered college wanting to work in the music industry. It’s actually because of this that I met one of my BFFs, Rose (who is basically amazing, still works in the industry and owns her own company) and got the chance to intern at Universal Music and Video Distribution for over a year.

During this time, in addition to getting a taste of what working in the music industry would actually be like, I met amazing people and of course, there were some perks:

Getting to hear albums before they were released and getting cool promotional items. Of course, there were tons of free CDs, too!

Guest lists.

Working “security” during Ashlee Simpson’s event at the Mall of America (remember her reality show?)

I look like a giant.
I look like a giant.

VIP at a lot of shows like the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, FOB, Scissor Sisters.

“Hanging around out” with the Counting Crows at the Basilica Block Party in 2004.

photo

Back then since it was college and I didn’t have too many obligations, I spent a lot of time road tripping all over the country with Rose, following our favorite bands and going to tons of local shows on a weekly basis. I also made a ton of other friends because of some little bands named Fall Out Boy and the Plain White T’s, etc.

These days, I don’t go to as many concerts anymore (unless there are seats, because I’m OLD. PS- have you seen this?) But one artist I still have a soft spot for and who I have some pretty fond memories of is someone I get to see TONIGHT!

Matt Nathanson.

Tohyedi2

Tohyedi

Scan0015

Lots of good Matty N. memories and hopefully we’ll make some more tonight!

Favorite bands/artists? 

8 thoughts on “Music makes the world go ’round.

  1. my friend rachel LOVES him! she would be so jealous that you met him. meanwhile i’m jealous you met ashlee. i saw her in concert in boston for my 16th bday and was close enough to the stage to touch her hand at one point. needless to say i FREAKED. i totally loved her reality show. when she was ryan cabrera’s music video girl in ‘on the way down’, ah! such a cool part of your past that i had NO idea about. thanks for sharing!

    1. Ahhh I love your Ashlee Simpson story! Do you remember that episode where she was at the MOA? My friend and I totally watched that episode to see if we could see ourselves in it at all. 🙂

  2. I am SOOOOO jealous you got to hang out with the Counting Crows!!! They are my FAVORITE!!!! Ah, Adam Duritz, you are a self-destructive, hopeless romantic.

    Have fun tonight!

    1. hahhaha, love it 🙂 I know — I love them. They might be one of the bands where I was truly star struck when I met them..

      And thanks!

  3. Wow, never been backstage before or actually met an artist, so jealous. I’ve only been to one concert before, and loved the whole vibe and energy of it. I’d love to see maroon 5 and beyonce in concert, but they don’t have any plans to come to Taiwan soon. 😦

    1. I definitely think I take being able to go to concerts for granted. I even get upset when bands I love skip over my city..I’m going to start considering myself lucky that they even come to my country at all!

      Beyonce is here next week and I know a bunch of people going…should be an awesome show. I saw Maroon 5 a loooooong time ago but would love to see them again now! I hope they come to Taiwan!

  4. Love Matt Nathanson! He puts on a great live show… hope you had a fantastic time! Not gonna lie… I’m kinda bummed I didn’t go to NKOTB last night! 🙂

    1. 🙂 I never really got into NKOTB (or 98 degrees, for that matter) but if it were BSB or N Sync — I would’ve been there 🙂

Leave a Reply

