[Giveaway] Obstacle races: what’s the hype?

GIVEAWAY CLOSED! Winner will be announced soon 🙂

To be perfectly honest, I’ve never really understood the appeal or had any desire to do an “obstacle course race.” I think maybe a small part of me was interested when they first started getting big, but I feel like there are just so many of them now and I don’t know really what I’m getting myself into. Besides that, I’m not really sure why they don’t appeal to me…maybe because I don’t know enough about them? And there’s no universal easy standard that I can measure myself against — right? But I can totally see the appeal for others and I know some friends who have done one of these races and it’s gotten them hooked on running.

So it was kind of funny when the folks at Reebok Spartan Race reached out to see if I would be interested in writing a post about their events. I decided to start doing a little research. I already knew that a lot of my friends had done these kinds of races, but I didn’t realize just how many! Just a few responses I got on my FB page….

obstacleraces

OK, sounds pretty cool…

Then, I decided to check out the Spartan Race website to see what sets them apart from all of the Warrior Dashes and Tough Mudders out there. From the website:

Spartan Race events are all about challenging today’s familiar perception of normal living and getting you out of your comfort zone. Having experienced many different racing events, we wanted to make adventure racing more accessible to everyone, but do not be fooled by the word ‘accessible’, as our events have a challenge for everyone’s needs.

I think it’s kind of cool that the events have different levels, beginning with the entry level Spartan Sprint, intermediate level Super Spartan, the advanced Spartan Beast, and the ‘99.9% need not apply’ extreme level Death Race. It sounds like there is a lot of community around the races, too.

Unfortunately, there are no events in Minnesota yet, but the one at Miller Park in Milwaukee looks awesome. And there’s one at Fenway!

So the best part is that I get to give away one race entry! These races are NOT cheap (it looks like prices range from $95-$145) so it’s a sweet deal. You can also use this link to register for any 2013-2014 Spartan Race in the continental US and receive 15% off your registration fee.

And enjoy this article from Runner’s World about this latest racing craze. I’m not sold on them yet; and let’s be honest. I spend WAY too much money on regular road races already, I’m not sure I can add this to my racing repertoire. But at least I’m starting to understand the appeal 🙂

I’d love to hear your thoughts on obstacle races! And to enter the giveaway, include in your comment or leave a separate comment about why you’d like to try the Reebok Spartan Race. Giveaway closes in one week.

9 thoughts on “[Giveaway] Obstacle races: what’s the hype?

  1. I’m not into the obstacle/challenge races, for me. But, if they inspire people to get active and improve their health, that is great. Those entry fees are insane though!!

  2. I absolutely love obstacle races!!!! I’ve done tough mudder twice. I’ve also done the Rugged Maniac. I want to try all of them. I really into road racing and trail racing, but the obstacle course is just something different, a different type of challenge! A lot of my friends that hate running will do the obstacle course/mud runs with me.

  3. I just completed my first obstacle course race and I’m not hooked. I signed up for the race only because a young family friend wanted to do it and she’s not old enough to drive. It was fun to experience her first race (and I’m jealous she was so young for a first race when I was 22) but I won’t be the person asking my friends to sign up for a new race. Instead I’ll wait for my friends to ask me to do another and then think about it…

  4. Hello!

    I am doing a tough mudder race this year but I have never done an obstacle course before. From what I hear the best part about them is the team aspect of the run. Are you still going to the Healthy Living Summit?

  5. I’d like to try the Spartan because I’ve never done one before. Last year I ran the Primal Mud Run and it was a blast.

  6. I think I may have an unhealthy addiction to obstacle course races. I’ve done a Spartan Race and just wish to do as many as possible but you’re correct, they can get VERY expensive. Thanks for hosting the giveaway.

Leave a Reply

