A change in plans.

Up until yesterday, the rest of my 2013 racing season was pretty much set. It looked like this:

  • This weekend: Big Ten 10K
  • August 10: Gopher to Badger Half
  • August 16-17: Ragnar
  • September 28: Building Strength 5K (will be walking this)
  • October 6: Twin Cities Marathon

Well yesterday I officially switched my registration from the half marathon to the 5K distance for the upcoming Gopher to Badger race I was planning to run. I had been contemplating making this switch for awhile now — I was getting worried about the course (hilly), the fact that I had Ragnar the following weekend, and my foot issues. And I have an appointment with an orthopedic doc on Monday because I figured it was time to get it taken care of. I would’ve waiting to switch race distances until after the appointment, but couldn’t because of the deadline to do so.

Anyways, I leave for Chicago TOMORROW! And as far as the race goes, I’ve decided not to try for any PR’s but not necessarily just run it for fun, either. I think “racing” the 6.2 miles will be good for my marathon training.

Besides racing, we plan to do some shopping, lots of eating and some sight-seeing. We’re really excited about doing the Chicago Architecture Boat Tour.

Speaking of boats…my hometown recently made the NBC Nightly News! Check it out.

Finally, if you want to enter for a chance to win a FREE race entry to a Reebok Spartan Race, my giveaway closes later today!

Have you ever switched race distances after already being registered?

12 thoughts on “A change in plans.

  1. Good decision! I switched from a full to a half in ATL a couple years ago. I even kind of knew I was going to do it when I registered on a whim. 🙂

  2. Smart! I switched a half to a 10k during my marathon training this spring and was really pleased. It was just long enough to be a workout, and experience some race day nerves/fueling, but you don’t put your body through unnecessary strain. Smart choice, and have fun in Chi-town!

  3. Have you had a formal diagnosis of plantar fasciitis? When I had my foot troubles, I assumed it was PF (because what other pain could there possibly be on the bottom of your foot?), but was wrong. In the time leading up to my physio appointment, I did one day of PF exercises and actually made my foot feel worse. Hope you get some answers with your foot and that it starts to feel better soon, you need it to be healthy for all this racing!

    And I REALLY hope it’s not PF because that takes a very long time to heal.

    1. Thanks, lady 😉

      I’m SO EXCITED! What do you think it is?

      PS – let’s get another date on the calendar soon!

Leave a Reply

