FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 7/22 – 7/28

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm
Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

Monday: rest day

It was a super nice night out, so the husband and I grilled some delicious Chicken Caesar Burgers and relaxed for the evening.

Tuesday: 2 miles. 8:34, 8:27

I was supposed to run four miles in the morning before work but a Benadryl coma forced me to run over my lunch break instead. (The night before, I took two Benadryl when I started itching and bug bits mysteriously appeared on my feet. Even though I took them at 8 p.m., Benadryl always hits me really hard and there was no way I was getting up before 5 a.m.)

Wednesday: I ate wings instead of running. It happens.

Thursday: 4 miles. 9:17, 9:21, 9:37, 9:06

I ran sans Garmin and just tried to run at a comfortable pace. I did an out-and-back, grabbing a few sips of water at the fountain that’s at the halfway mark.

I noticed that when I ran on the part of the path that was shaded, I didn’t feel as tired and my pace definitely picked up as compared to when I was running in the direct sunlight. I know this is “duh” but I was surprised at just how big of a difference this made.

After my run, I met Mandy at one of my favorite places on Earth — the Midtown Global Market!

Bok Bok from Left Handed Cook and eggplant fries from Sonara Grill

Bok Bok from Left Handed Cook and eggplant fries from Sonara Grill

We did some Ragnar planning and then I headed back home to finish packing for Chicago.

Friday: Over 15,000 steps from traveling and walking around Chicago! I had Subway at the airport and this delicious snack we found:

Andrea can't eat nuts, so this was a perfect snack to share!

Andrea can’t eat nuts, so this was a perfect snack to share!

Friday

Saturday: Big Ten 10K

IMG_4667

A great, confidence-building race! Hope to run this again next year.

Sunday: Rest day, but got plenty of steps walking around Chicago and both Midway and MSP airports.

Sunday

I miss you already, Chicago.

I miss you already, Chicago.

Lots of steps overall this week! (Except for Wednesday because eating wings requires very few steps.)

Weekly

This was a dial back week, in terms of mileage. Hoping that after a doctor’s appointment on Monday, I can be back where I need to be very soon!

How were your workouts last week? Run any races?

12 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 7/22 – 7/28

    1. hyedi Post author

      Yup — I’m pretty sure it’ll always be in Chicago. It’d be cool if they expanded it though!

      Reply
  1. rebacox

    I love Chicago in the summer. So much fun! and haha I laughed really loud about this: Wednesday: I ate wings instead of running. It happens.

    Reply
  2. Shawn

    I don’t have any races planned until september. Tried to sign up for the color run but too many people tried to sign up at once and the website crashed. Now race spots are going to be decided by random drawings. 😦 Did a lot of burpees last week and could barely make it through this morning’s run. Congrats on the pr and hope all is well at your doctor’s appointment.

    Reply
  3. Caitlin

    umm the eggplant fries look so good. i am dying to try sun cups because i love sunflower seed butter!!! the chicken caesar burger sounds excellent. i bet my picky little brother even would love that. he loves caesar salads since they’re so plain.

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      They are SO good. That breading on them is out of this world.

      The Sun Cups were SO good — now just have to find out where else I can buy them 🙂

      Reply
  4. erin

    Can you believe I’ve only been to Chicago once, and it was when I was a senior in high school?! Totally running that 10K next year 🙂

    Those chicken burgers look delicious! And, where can I find those sun cups?! Yum.

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Yes! It was such a great race 🙂 And you will love getting back to Chicago as an adult!

      I haven’t been able to find Sun Cups anywhere else besides the airport!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

