Running through Chicago + Reebok Spartan winner!

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm
Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

First of all, congratulations to Seth, for winning the FREE race entry to a Reeboc Spartan race!

Winner

OK, onto the SUPER long recap.

DAY 1

We got into Midway around 2:40 and took the Orange line to our hotel. We checked in, changed and got back on the train to go pick up our race packets.

photo

IMG_4650

IMG_4651

After packet pickup, we ran to catch a train to make it in time for our 5:45 reservations atย Frontera Grill. I made these reservation over two months ago and the hostess was very impressed that I scored prime time reservations! Let’s just say that I get what all the fuss is about.

These might be the best chips and salsa ever. I had them at Xoco before and was blown away then too.
These might be the best chips and salsa ever. I had them at Xoco before and was blown away then too.
IMG_4655
Fried Sweet Plantains: Homemade sour cream, fresh cheese.
Tacos Arabes: Black pepper pork shoulder, chipotle salsa, yogurt jocoque sauce, cucumber.
Tacos Arabes: Black pepper pork shoulder, chipotle salsa, yogurt jocoque sauce, cucumber.

After we got back from dinner we relaxed awhile before heading to bed early since the alarm was set for 4:45 a.m.

DAY 2

Big Ten 10K race recap

After the race, we grabbed some Dunkin’ Donuts (again, my obsession is because we don’t have them in MN):

I love when post-race recovery involves donuts, coffee and legs up the wall
I love when post-race recovery involves donuts, coffee and legs up the wall

And then we made an obligatory stop for a photo (or two or three) at the Bean:

IMG_4672

Bean selfie!
Bean selfie!

Then we walked the couple of blocks from Millenium Park to our hotel where we showered, checked out, checked our luggage and headed down Michigan Ave. to see if we could get in to eat lunch at (my fave) The Purple Pig.

They said it was only going to be a 45-minute wait so we gave the hostess my phone number and then continued down Michigan Avenue for some power shopping at Zara.

We had just made our purchases when the Purple Pig called us only about 25 minutes later, so we hurried back as quickly as we could.

IMG_4691
The fava beans, pork secreto and chicken kebabs

After lunch, Andrea and I took the Red Line to Wrigleyville. It brought back a lot of memories of ย all of the time I spent in Chicago when I was in college.

IMG_20130727_173403

We walked to Wrigley Field and got some amazing froyo at Forever Yogurt (which I later found out is a Chicago-based frozen yogurt company). And after doing some research, I discovered that a Forever Yogurt is coming to MINNEAPOLIS!!!!! (St. Louis Park to be exact) No word on when exactly it’s opening though.

Once we got back from Wrigleyville it was time to switch hotels. I had points to use at the Radisson Blu but they only had rooms available for Friday night so we re-located to the Holiday Inn for Saturday night. We collected our luggage and then it was just a quick cab ride to the new hotel. Once we got to our room, we decided that aย quick 15-minute nap was exactly what we needed.

Andrea and I woke up feeling a bit more refreshed and then grabbed a quick drink at the Cityscape Bar in our hotel — great view!

view

Once we were finished with our drinks, we walked to RPM for dinner.

Proscuitto-wrapped figs (GO TO CHICAGO AND GET THESE IMMEDIATELY)
Proscuitto-wrapped figs (GO TO CHICAGO AND GET THESE IMMEDIATELY)
IMG_4701
Grilled asparagus, truffle garlic bread and the carbonara

I can’t say enough about how pleasantly surprised I was with how good RPM was. The service was FAN-tastic and the food was outstanding.

PHEW — check out my Fitbit step totals from Saturday alone! I finally got my 35,000 step badge.

Saturday

DAY 3

After a restless nights sleep, we got up, showered and packed up so we’d be ready to check out right after the boat tour. Andrea and I swung by Einstein Bros for a bagel and coffee before making our way over to get on the boat for the Chicago Architecture Foundation’s tour.

IMG_20130728_110546

IMG_20130728_102334

The tour was really interesting and we got a nice snapshot of the rich architectural history Chicago has to offer. Andrea’s friend Priscilla and Hillary joined us on the tour. So much fun to finally meet Hillary!

IMG_4709

IMG_4708

After a quick brunch at the Corner Cafe, we checked out of the hotel and took the train back to the airport. It was a whirlwind trip (and I think I’m still exhausted from it!) but soooooo much fun!

Side note: Since I got so much better phone service in Chicago with my Verizon Droid than with my iPhone, I used it quite a bit during the weekend. Comparing my photos side-by-side makes me appreciate the camera even more on the Droid now!

14 thoughts on “Running through Chicago + Reebok Spartan winner!

  1. Soooo much fun doesn’t even begin to describe it! It was a great trip, and I’m so glad we got to do it. May have to be repeated next year! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Sounds like a great trip to Chicago! I was just there the weekend before! My good friend who lives in Chicago tried to take me to the Purple Pig, but the wait was too long and she had plans after our lunch together, so we ended up going to Hillstone Bandera just down the street. I was a little bummed that we didn’t make it to the Purple Pig, but Bandera was pretty darn tasty!

    1. Oh FUN!The last time I was in Chicago, some people I know went to Bandera and said it was delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ Next time — Purple Pig!

  3. holy shmoly this food looks amazing! i totally have made reservations for restaurants i know i’ll be visiting on a vacation a few months in advance. and i used to be in love with DD when i lived in florida because we didn’t have any there! now that i live in new england, where my hometown has 4 locations, it’s no big deal to me. but whenever i see something like chick fil a i have to get it because we have none in new england!

Leave a Reply

