Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Updates and a fun new toy!

4 Comments

http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm
Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

Update on my foot

I saw an orthopaedic doc on Monday (seriously, the best in the Cities — Dr. Angie Voight at Summit Orthopaedics). The bad news is that it is indeed Plantar Fasciitis. The good news is that everything I’ve been doing (icing, stretching, rolling, resting) has been doing some good and I can continue to train. I have to start physical therapy ASAP (the first appointment I could get, however, was August 29) and have a follow up appointment with Dr. Voight right before the marathon.

Update on GOTR fundraising goal

I officially reached my goal of raising $1,000. And I did it before August 1! Now just have to put other people’s money where my mouth is and run TCM in under four hours. NBD. Thanks so much to everyone who donated!

Update on life

Remember this post? Let’s see how I’m doing on that, shall we?

Learn to say no/ hold my “me time” sacred.  Ummm, this is going OK. I give myself a B -. I’ve kind of been running nonstop since I got home from Chicago and the next couple of weeks look the same. But I do have a few free nights and this weekend is relatively open.

Take care of myself: eating healthy, getting as much sleep as possible, etc.  Bah. I maybe get a C+ on this — my diet desperately needs some cleaning up and I haven’t been getting a ton of sleep lately. However, I did start acupuncture for my migraines and I think it’ll end up helping me feel better overall as long as I start working on the sleep/diet aspects of my life also.

Continue seeing my therapist. A! I’m only going for sessions every other week now, but I’m still going!

Enjoy and savor the relaxing time at the cabin I have coming up in a few days!  Done. The cabin was wonderfully relaxing.

Keep my eye on the prize(s) This one takes some work, but I’m definitely making myself stop and pause every once in awhile to remember why I’m doing certain things and to focus on the positive.

ALSO…

Our second device from Verizon came on Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (can you tell I’m excited?)

What could it be?

What could it be?

Oh. Em. Gee!

Oh. Em. Gee!

IMG_4716

It’s so prettyyyyy

IMG_4718

IMG_4719

Screenshot_2013-08-01-08-57-51

Love the browsing capabilities.

 

Unfortunately, this week I’ve had plans or had to work every night so I haven’t had much time to spend with my new toy! But right away, I LOVE the big screen and how sleek everything is. And now that I’ve had my Droid Razr HD for awhile, I’m really comfortable with the interface and how downloading apps works, etc.

 

samsung

I’ll definitely be reporting back as I get it all set up and start to use it more. But I think I’m in love with it already!

4 thoughts on “Updates and a fun new toy!

  1. how COOL is that tablet? jealous of your opp with verizon!!! i too have started seeing my therapist every other week. it’s important to check in but it’s nice to have one less weekly appt!

    • 🙂 It’s pretty sweet. I feel so spoiled!

      I agree — plus, even when it feels like it’s so much work to go to another appointment, I usually feel so much better afterwards!

  2. Glad your doc said you can continue to train! Whew! 🙂

    Hope the acupuncture is helping! And, I’m with ya on the sleep… I haven’t been getting nearly enough!

Leave a Reply

