FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 7/29 – 8/4

Disclosure: I am participating in the Verizon Health and Fitness Voices program and have been provided with a wireless device and six months of service in exchange for my honest opinions about the product.

Monday: rest day

I had my appointment with the orthopaedic doc, and after work J and I went to see Mud. We don’t go to movies all that often, but we live within walking distance of the most adorable (cheap) movie theater where they still use REAL butter on the popcorn!

What’d we think of Mud? We liked it! McConaughey was actually pretty terrific in it.

Tuesday: 5.5 miles in 50:46. 1 mile warm up @ 9:40 pace, then 7x800s (4 @ 8:13 pace and 3 @ 8:06 pace) and a cool down.

Finally nailed a workout — and damn, it felt good. Did this workout on the treadmill after work before heading to one of our old college spots — Burrito Loco.

Apparently it was 2-4-1s. Oops.
Apparently it was 2-4-1s. Oops.

My BFF, Rose, was in town from LA so Mandy, Jen and I all met to catch up and have some burritos and beer. So much fun!

Wednesday: worked the second job. So. tired.

Thursday: 6.07 miles. 1 mile warm up at 9:55 pace then three tempo miles at 8:51, 8:29, 8:45 followed by 10:09 and 9:53.

There were supposed to be four tempo miles (8:40 – 8:50 pace) but I ran out of steam. Still pretty happy with getting all six miles in. I spotted some pretty flowers on the St. Paul side of the river.

IMG_4727

Thursday was also the day that MADE MY ENTIRE YEAR. I found out that I was accepted to be a runner for the Oiselle Volee Team! Check out my pretty new badge over there on the right hand side of the blog!

Everything about this just feels so right! I adore everything about this company and what it stands for — not to mention the incredible powerhouse woman behind it and those who are a part of it. I’ve been inspired for so long by many of their athletes and while I’m nowhere near elite (or will ever be) I’m super excited to fly with the team during 2013-2014!

I celebrated with a Dog Flicker with Andrea while we worked on WordPress/blog stuff.

That would be a hot dog topped with cilantro, kimchi and a friend egg. Brilliant and delicious.
That would be a hot dog topped with cilantro, kimchi and a friend egg. Brilliant and delicious.

Friday: one hour personal training session

Besides almost throwing up, this was a good workout. (I still have no idea why I was so nauseous) We spent the first 40 minutes doing circuits between the spin bike, crank cycle, and mat (with kettlebells focusing on legs, arms and abs) and then finished with 20 minutes on the Pilates Reformer.

My manager, some co-workers and I took a lunch break from a busy week to go get some delicious Korean food.

Mmmmm Bi Bim Bap
Mmmmm Bi Bim Bap

And after work I swung by Mill City Running to check out their new Oiselle gear. I treated myself to the Lesko sports bra since I’ve been needing a new one.

IMG_4740

Saturday: 4 miles @ 10:10 pace

Schedule called for an easy four miles. I have not been running four days a week in over a month because of my foot issues and I could tell. Saturdays were typically the day I’d skip and my legs were tired. It took a good three miles to warm them up.

Right before we reached our turnaround point, we saw Carrie Tollefson coming towards us on the running path and we were treated to a wave, friendly smile and a “hello!” She, of course, looked amazing.

The rest of the day was busy with a trip to Ikea, Target, the grocery and liquor stores and some yard work, but was capped off with a relaxing evening of grilling (homemade Juicy Lucys!) and watching baseball.

IMG_4742

I also got in some quality time with my new Samsung Galaxy Tab 2. While it’s a toss up between my iPhone and Droid Razr HD, there’s no question that I like the Tab more than my iPad so far.

Sunday: 14 miles in 2:14. 9:35 pace.

Lots of hills throughout this run which was good practice for Ragnar that’s now in less than two weeks! We did a giant loop that I’ve never run before, starting at my house and running along the river. Right before we were at the halfway point, we came upon quite the obstacle:

IMG_4750
Train!

We found a little bridge to take us over the tracks and we used the bathrooms, took our GU and had some water at this lovely park that had an equally lovely view of the city:

IMG_4752

Then, we looped back through the U of M campus and back down along the river. I wore my new Lesko bra and LOVED it! It’s suuuuper comfy.

Once the hubs got home from his 15 miler, I went and got Chipotle. Burrito consuming commenced and then I napped before heading to work. Unfortunately, the night ended with a headache that turned into a migraine and I actually had to leave work early. No fun.

Next week is going to be weird, training-wise, because I’m racing a 5K on Saturday and Ragnar is the following weekend. So I’m shifting things a bit and planning 12x400s on Tuesday, a mid-pace six miler on Thursday, the 5K on Saturday and a 8-10 miler on Sunday.

Have you ever had to wait for a train to pass while on a run? Have you seen Mud? How were your workouts this week?
http://vzw-badge.comblu.com/Health-Fitness.htm

12 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: weekly workouts 7/29 – 8/4

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! So excited for you! Well deserved to be part of that rockin’ Oiselle team, friend! And, nice work on your long run this week!

    Also, please tell me where I can get that hot dog with kimchi and cilantro?!

  2. mmm beer. i have been craving it a lot lately! last night i shared a flight w/my friend. it was delicious, so many diff kinds but each was a winner in its own way. that hot dog looks FABULOUS. love the addition of egg.

Leave a Reply

