Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Gopher to Badger 5K race recap

9 Comments

Race #14 of the year is in the books!

The day started out as any other typical race morning. I woke up around 5 a.m. and had a cup of coffee along with one piece of Ezekiel toast with AB. The weather looked like it’d be about 60 degrees at race start with sun and no wind so I decided on my Oiselle stride shorts and new Flyte tank (yup — I wore it again), compression socks and sunglasses. My mom and I left the house close to 6:30 so I would have time to get my race packet and take a bus to the start line.

Both the half marathon and 5K distances finished in the same place, Lakefront Park in Hudson, Wisconsin. As we pulled up to the park, I realized I had been there once before — sometime around 5 a.m. during my last Ragnar Relay!

IMG_4768

Pretty, pretty.

I secured my race packet and met up with my friend Amanda, who traveled from Madison and was running the half marathon. Reunited after at least eight years probably!?!

IMG_4769

Had to represent Minnesota while waiting for the race to start!

The half marathoners left in their buses around 7:20 and then I got in line for the 5K bus. It took us across the river to Minnesota to the start line, which was in a residential area in the city of Afton (I think). Then, the route followed the last 3.1 miles of the half marathon course.

I can’t say I was a fan of the way the start was organized (maybe my only complaint about this race). There were no mats at the start (which isn’t necessarily unusual) but then again, my Garmin time seemed to be pretty off from the official time and I pressed “start” right when I passed the start banner. So that was a little confusing. Also, there was no organization and there were groups of walkers that started right up front. The race also started early, so I was a bit surprised when I heard the horn go off.

Mile 1: 7:46

OK — enough complaining. After finally weaving my way through to a place where I could run at a pace with my own personal space, I settled in and focused on maintaining my position and not getting passed.

Mile 2: 7:42

Mile 2 included a nice, long downhill slope that I was very happy about. At this point, you’re also basically running alongside Interstate I-94 too, which was really weird. Things went pretty well during this mile. Right in front of me was a tall girl with long legs that I tried to keep up with — and almost did, until the end of mile 2 when she took off.

map

Mile 3: 7:40

Mile 3 takes you into downtown Hudson. I was tired and thirsty but somehow kept my legs moving. Left, right, left right. And by the end of the race, I was pretty much on my own. I wasn’t fast enough (or had enough left in the tank to pick up the pace at all) to stick with the pack in front of my, but I had also picked off a few people who had probably gone out too fast. So as I came into the park for the last .2 or so, the spectators were pretty great and definitely got me through to the end.

Wow -- check out that terrible form.

Wow — check out that terrible form.

Final time: 24:37 (and did you check out those negative splits?!?!)

Overall, pretty happy with this race. I was only passed by one person the entire race and by no females! I have to admit though, I feel a little frustrated because it felt like I was running so fast the entire time and then I look at how much further I have to go to make my sub-24:00 goal. I have literally NO idea how people run 17:XX 5Ks. Or faster. Oh, I guess they must put in hard work πŸ™‚

IMG_4778

My mom and I watched the 5K awards ceremony and then headed back to the finish line to see Amanda. She had a great race!

How do you approach 5Ks? Do you have any 5K goals?

 

9 thoughts on “Gopher to Badger 5K race recap

  1. Great job on your 5k! The gopher/badger medal is really cute. I am terrible when it comes to pacing myself in 5ks. During my last 5k, I went out way too fast and ended up puking on the side of the road about .1 miles from the finish line. I’d like to get down to 24:xx at some point and will probably work on speed once marathon training is over.

    • Ack! Puking is no good πŸ™‚ I think I will be doing the same thing once marathon training is over. It’s really fun to use 5Ks to see speed improvement!

  2. I would love to hit the 24 min mark for a 5k. But we’ll see if I ever get there (i’ve got over 6 minutes to shave off). I think with 5ks it is really hard to see what the race is like. I’m not surprised that there weren’t any mats, I tend to adjust my time either choosing garmin time or race time depending on how they have it set up. If you really want to race a 5k, do the Grandma’s Marathon one on Friday night, its a great race, and the winners are super competitive!

    • You can totally hit the 24 minute mark! Even last year I would have never thought I’d hit the mark and now it’s within my reach πŸ™‚

  3. Way to go on the race, especially negative splits! I’m still working on those…

    5 km’s for me are the only time I go all out. Yes it’s hard and you just want to go easy, but then suddenly it’s all over, and you get a new PR. My current 5km goal is for a sub-26:00 5km, to be run hopefully this Sunday in the first half of my downhill start 10km. Then I’ll run a slower second half, hopefully resulting in a PR??

    Nice medal btw! It seems the American races, no matter how big or small, give really nice, customised to the race medals. Very different compared to the bulk-bought, generic ones we get here in Scotland. Or at least for the races I run…. but I’m more of a tshirt person anyway πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you, Danielle πŸ™‚

      Yeah, the medal thing seems to be kind of a new thing. I swear a few years ago, you’d never get a medal at a 5K and they weren’t always so customized either. But a lot of races are filling up and more and more people are signing up, so that might be part of it!

      Good luck (again) on Sunday!

  4. Congrats on the negative splits and completing 14 races this year. Completely in awe at your race time. I haven’t run a 5k in like forever, but when I do, my goal would be to break 30 min.

  5. what a cute medal and DAMN girl that time is amazing! 14 races is nothing to sneeze at and it’s only august. i usually go for sub-30 on my 5k but now that i know i’m capable of my PR which is about 28min i get mad at myself if i get above 29 minutes or so. but i don’t run often so if i do get about my PR i tell myself it’s because i’m out of practice πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

