Healthy Living Summit: less than a month away!

Hello from Atlanta! Yup — my flight was delayed and I got put on a new flight leaving at 3:30 today….

Anyways, does anyone know where the summer went? Healthy Living Summit is less than one month away! HLS will be my first blogging conference and I can’t wait. It’s nice that it’s being held in Minneapolis so I didn’t have to worry about traveling or taking off too much time from work. I do have to fit a 20 mile run in sometime that weekend which should be interesting.

There will be some mini-mingles and fit-mingles held throughout the weekend and I’m currently looking into hosting one. So if you’re going to be attending, make sure to RSVP for my mini-mingle!

Also, I’m super excited to announce that I’m attending the conference on behalf of GymPact. For anyone that has been reading FAB for awhile, you know that I love GymPact and will sing its praises to any who’ll listen. I’m up to 354 workouts and have put my GymPact funds (About $235 to date) for fun stuff like registering for races and buying new workout clothes! For me, I’m not looking to GymPact to make a bunch of money (you only make $1-2 typically per week) but rather it’s about the motivation not to be charged for missing a workout. And that’s really motivating to me.

There will be some fun stuff coming up through this partnership, but for now, if you’ve been thinking about giving GymPact a try, you can do it using a special code the GP folks set up for me. It allows you to try it out risk free without having to enter in any payment information AND you will earn $5 right off the bat after completing your first pact! Use the code “FindingaBalance” (case sensitive without the quotes) when you sign up.

Happy Friday!

If you have any questions about GymPact — just ask!

13 thoughts on “Healthy Living Summit: less than a month away!

    1. It doesn’t know for sure, but the GPS is really accurate and I know I’ve never been tempted to cheat!

      Have tickets gone up for grabs yet? I know they go fast!

      1. Thanks!

        If the gym you go to isn’t registered yet, you just submit it and they’ll approve it and add it to their database. For running you can sync with RunKeeper or you could use the “workout anywhere” feature which tracks movement. Runs/walks have to be at least 30 minutes long!

  1. I really wanted to love GymPact but they had so many issues syncing things with RunKeeper and kept taking money for workouts I did. I tried to work with their customer service and got no help. Really frustrating as I am also motivated by money but not when it’s unfairly taken. See you at Healthy Living Summit!

    1. Ughhhh that’s no good. I totally can see why you’d be frustrated. I know others have had similar issues but I’ve been lucky enough to only have a few issues that were taken care of pretty quickly! And I know they just like, doubled, the size of their customer support team so hopefully things will improve?

      Anyways — looking forward to meeting at HLS!

      1. I ended up deleting it because losing $5 for workouts I was doing does not fit in my budget. Maybe I will use it again if the kinks are ever worked out.

    1. YAY! Me too 🙂 We’re still finalizing details but they’ll be sending out an email with more info — keep an eye out!

  2. Flight delays are extremely annoying and tiring. The other day, my flight got delayed for more than 24 hours. Anyways, the blogging conference sounds like a lot of fun and I hope you have a great time.

  3. Hi Hyedi,
    I’ve considered using Gympact, but I really dislike using the GPS on my phone when I run since it drains the battery, and I assume that is how Gympact knows that you’re moving when you’re not at the Gym? However, I use my Garmin watch for all runs. It would be super if Gympact and Garmin could figure out how to communicate. Also, does Gympact work with Corepower Yoga Studios?

    I’m also attending HLS (and live in the Twin Cities area) and need to do a loooong run that weekend. I’m thinking that super early Saturday might be the best option. But we’ll see 🙂
    Katie

Leave a Reply

