T to the A-P-E-R + GymPact giveaway winner

My packet pick up information just came in the mail — it’s getting real! Officially less than two weeks.

Photo on 2013-09-23 at 08.16 #2
Thrilled. clearly.

So, it’s about that time again — taper time. I had my last “long” run yesterday and now it’s allllllll downhill from here?

I have a love/hate relationship with the taper. Last year, around this time, I was really struggling mentally with the taper. I was in constant fear that I wasn’t running enough to make it to the start line, prepared. Or then I would start worrying that I was running too much and that I wouldn’t be as rested as I could be for the race. We’ll see how I handle it this year, but I think having one marathon under my belt will help me feel more confident in the training I’ve already banked away and to listen to my injured body to help guide me in what I should be doing.

The next couple of weeks will probably look something like this (a modified training schedule to take my injuries into account):

Week of 9/23: run 10-15 miles

Week of 9/20: run 5-10 miles before the marathon

I have my follow-up appointment with the orthopedic doctor today and two more PT sessions before the marathon. I’m hoping that doing my hip/ankle strengthening exercises will help me not completely fall apart on race day. The next couple of weeks also will mean abstaining from alcohol and trying to eat clean (which will make happy hour this evening somewhat challenging.)

It also won’t be long before I can start stalking the 10-day forecast for race day. I already know I’ll be rocking my Oiselle singlet and either my Stride shorts or Rogas. And probably starting off with arm warmers.

race morning 2012.
race morning 2012.

How do you approach the taper?

Congrats to Alexa who won the GymPact giveaway!

Screen shot 2013-09-20 at 10.31.37 PM

 

Please email me at hyedi.nelson [at] gmail [dot] com. Thanks!

7 thoughts on “T to the A-P-E-R + GymPact giveaway winner

  1. though i don’t run, i can see myself being VERY paranoid about losing all the running skills i acquired during training. but tapers are recommended for a reason – they work! i’m sure that since you’ve done a taper once and had it work well for you, you will have an easier time than last time at tapering.

  2. LOVE your bangs! 🙂

    I do a lot of visualization and positive self talk during taper. And, I take time to just relax at home with a good book. Don’t worry… you are going to crush TCM! Can’t wait to cheer you on 🙂

    1. Thanks, Erin! I love this — I definitely don’t do enough of those two things. I think I’ll give it a try this and next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

