I never thought I’d say this… (and a GOTR winner!)

…but as of this moment, my husband will be running the Twin Cities Marathon by my side.

Yes, you read that correctly. My husband, who just ran a 3:04 marathon is aiming to run TCM in 4 hours. He’s coming back from an injury so has (for now, anyways) decided to run this marathon “for fun” so he doesn’t jeopardize his performance at Boston. I haven’t run with my husband since we first started dating, so I’m really excited about this!

In other news, the first few days at the new job have been awesome. As much as I miss my old co-workers and manager, I already feel right at home with this great team and in a small office. On my first day, we went out for all-you-can-eat sushi and I was welcomed by Urkel (how many people can say that?):

Creepy, yet so thoughtful!

Creepy, yet so thoughtful!

As far as workouts go, I ran Tuesday evening and my calves have proceeded to knot up in balls again (perfect timing) but I do think my glute/hip strengthening exercises are continuing to help.

Nice night for a run!

Nice night for a run!

The rest of this week includes getting in one more short run and a SUPER short shakeout run the day before the marathon. I am also finishing up my last week at my second job before they close for the season (woot!):

Had to order ceviche before they close for the season

Had to order ceviche before they close for the season

Do you run with your significant other?

Urkel — cute or creepy?

CONGRATS to Erin who won the GOTR 5K giveaway! Email me and I’ll get you set up 🙂

7 thoughts on “I never thought I’d say this… (and a GOTR winner!)

  1. Caitlin

    “cute, but creepy!” is hilarious as a caption. i chuckled. that margarita (yes?) and ceviche pairing look to DIE for. so cool that hubby is running with you! what a guy! i love that you guys can do that together. i dont have a sig other but my parents have some races they’ve run together like the army 10 miler in DC. they also usually run a nearby road race together labor day weekend but my dad does the 5K and my mom does the half marathon, ha! he drinks beer while he waits for her to finish.

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      It’s actually just lemonade (decided to abstain from alcohol this week) — but it’s homemade lemonade and so yum. That’s cool that your parents run together — I think your dad has the right idea with running the 5K and enjoying a bevvie while waiting for your mom 🙂

      Reply
  2. Danielle @ I Eat Therefore I Run

    I do run with my husband right now, as he’s also running the half marathon with me. We run our warm-ups together, but once we get to any speedwork, he’s way ahead of me. And when we run long runs together, I’m ahead of him. Go figure!

    Hope your last few runs go well and that you get LOTS of rest!

    Reply
  3. erin

    That’s fantastic he’s running with you! What a boost that will be 🙂 Nick’s usually way too fast for me, but he has slowed down post-IM a few times so we could run together… its been so fun!

    So glad you’re settling in to the new gig! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

    Hooray! Thank you for the GOTR entry! Love that organization. I’ll email you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

