Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Leading the pack

11 Comments

Ha! They just posted a few more photos from the marathon and I’m thinking of buying this one because it looks like I’m leading a pack (and beating all of those boys)!

It totally looks like I'm beating all of those boys!

OK – so I see another women in the photo. But still…

Thanks, everyone, for your kind comments on my last post. I was feeling a bit too mentally exhausted to reply to them, but I really appreciate the support!

It’s been a busy, busy week. On Sunday, we booked our Boston trip! I can’t wait and it feels so good to have the trip booked — one more thing to cross off the list. Who else is going to be in Boston for the marathon in 2014?

This week, I also attended the MIMA Summit, a big marketing and technology conference, for work. The highlights were definitely getting to see Nate Silver speak. (I’m a huge nerd and find the kind of stuff he does interesting.) And the opening keynote fromΒ Sarah LacyΒ was pretty awesome.

I have big plans to run later today — the first run since the marathon! Just planning to run a few miles today to test out the hip. I’m sad to say that I can still feel that something isn’t right, but I’m going to give it a shot!

Next week looks a bit more low key and I’m excited because the hubs and I will be celebrating our 2 year anniversary!

Question: does anyone have a good training plan for a 5K? Or good workouts to do if you’re trying to improve your 5K time?

Author: hyedi

A 20-something on a journey to live a healthy, balanced life.

11 thoughts on “Leading the pack

  1. Love the picture! Bummer our run got rained out. We’ll have to try again another time. Happy Anniversary! πŸ™‚

  2. LOVE the photo! It looks super badass. πŸ™‚ Woop woop Boston!!

  3. Nice picture Hyedi! You’re a badass! πŸ™‚

  4. I ‘like’ Coach Jenny Hadfield on facebook, and she always posts stuff to her page. She also has a website with free training programmes for all race distances and abilities, check out her website. Also, every year, Runner’s World UK compiles a Complete Guide to Running, which has chapters on EVERYTHING you need to know about running (beginners, cross training, nutrition, motivation, injury prevention, etc). It’s a proper book, not a large magazine. One of the chapters is on races and provides training programmes for each distance; that’s where I got my half marathon plan. Hopefully the US version of the magazine makes something similar? Good luck!

    • Ooo I think I’ve seen some of her stuff — I should check it out! Thanks for the advice, Danielle πŸ™‚ I appreciate it!

  5. Awesome photo, definitely buy it! Hope your hip gets better soon and happy anniversary in advance!

  6. Love that pic! You’re so focused! Boston = SO exciting! I can already feel the energy πŸ™‚

    Happy two years!

Leave a Reply

