Wedding weekend

My friend Ashley’s wedding weekend kicked off with her zombie bride-themed bachelorette last Thursday (fitting, since it was on Halloween night). Andrea even made her famous dessert:

"eyeball" truffles.

“eyeball” truffles.

IMG_0077

There was no pole dancing for this bunch.

There was no pole dancing for this bunch.

Unfortunately, I had an early client meeting on Friday morning so had to miss out on the later evening festivities. But it was still a lot of fun. Then, on Saturday, it was the big day!

Grad school friends!

Grad school friends, including the beautiful bride!

I was going to get my nails done and get a blow out, but I decided to save my money and make my gel manicure from a few weeks ago last one more day (and I even got a compliment on my nails!) and do my hair myself. I had already saved some cash by re-wearing this dress I bought and wore for a summer wedding. I threw a blazer over it, bought new shoes, bangles and a necklace ($30 total from Forever 21). Pretty proud of myself!

IMG_0089

Besides all of the amazingness that was Ashley’s wedding, it was a pretty less-than-spectacular weekend. So on Sunday afternoon, I had some pie with a friend to cheer myself up…

IMG_0096

…and then gave into the time change and went to bed at 8:30. Here’s to a (better) brand new week!

What are your low-budget fashion secrets?

10 thoughts on “Wedding weekend

  1. Caitlin

    i totally LOVE your outfit. that dress is adorable and your hair is so cute! a zombie bride party, how fun and festive. the eyeball truffles are so pinterest!

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Thank you! And right?! it was so much fun watching everyone get “zombiefied” instead of all dolled up!

      Reply
  2. Danielle @ I Eat Therefore I Run

    My low budget fashion ‘secrets’ are to buy most of my stuff on sale. Most of the shopping I do is online, so I just wait for things to go on sale, or when I’m browsing, I only look at the sale/clearance items. I will pay regular price for somethings, but these are generally pieces that are under £40 (about $60 USD). I also tend to buy a lot of classic pieces rather than trendy, that way I can wear them year after year. And I avoid Lululemon like the plague 🙂

    Reply
  3. erin

    Looooove your outfit! That dress is fab, and your hair… I’d love to have your hair 🙂 My low-budget fashion secret… I usually buy one great dress a year and then wear it to all functions 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

