Satisfying cravings using the health key™ system

I am a member of the Collective Bias®  Social Fabric® Community.  This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper amplification for Collective Bias and its advertiser.
For the past few months I’ve been operating under the mindset that if something sounds good, I am going to go ahead and eat it. Yikes. That, coupled with the fact that I didn’t grocery shop for almost a month over the holidays, led to going out to eat almost every day and not eating as healthy as my husband and I would’ve liked. And now that we’re both in new training cycles (he’s training for Boston and my race is TBD) we really need to buckle down and get our eating back on track. So this past weekend, the hubs and I got our grocery shopping on.
I had been craving Mexican food for the past few weeks but as much as I was craving it, the thought of greasy, cheesy food wasn’t appealing. So, using the health key™ system at my local Rainbow Foods I decided to make some healthy updates (like swapping out flour tortillas for whole wheat ones and using greek yogurt instead of sour cream) to my mom’s Layered Fiesta Casserole recipe.
The health key™ system is made up of colored square tags that make it easier for you to choose healthier food to put in your shopping cart. Here are a couple of examples of tags you might see at your local Rainbow Foods store:
IMG_0547
IMG_0548
I started in the produce section where I picked up a green and orange bell pepper and some cilantro:
IMG_0542
IMG_0543
And then picked some whole wheat tortillas out of Rainbow’s huge selection of tortillas:
IMG_0545
The only item I didn’t purchase at the grocery store was the ground beef I used. My husband and I bought another part of a grass-fed cow a few months back and I decided to use that in the dish. Other items I picked up were salsa, frozen corn, diced tomatoes, green chilies, shredded cheddar cheese and greek yogurt.
IMG_0551
Layered Fiesta Casserole
1 lb extra lean ground beef. (Definitely feel free to mix it up with chicken or  make it vegetarian with black beans.)
1 green bell pepper chopped
1 red  or orange bell pepper chopped
1 jar (16oz.) salsa
1 can diced tomatoes undrained
1/2 pkg frozen corn, thawed (or use fresh if it’s in season!)
12 whole wheat tortillas (6″)
1-1/2 cups of Sharp Cheddar Cheese divided
Preheat oven at 375. Brown meat with peppers in skillet. Stirring frequently, drain fat if using ground beef. Stir in salsa, green chilies, tomatoes and corn bring to a boil.
IMG_0554
Spoon 1c. meat on bottom of a 13×9″ pan. Top with 6 tortillas and overlapping as necessary. Sprinkle cilantro in as desired. Spoon half the remaining meat mixture over tortillas, top with 3/4 cheese. Top with remaining tortillas and meat mixture. Cover with foil.
IMG_0557
IMG_0558
Bake for 25-30 min or until heated through. Remove from oven and uncover and sprinkle with remaining cheese. Let stand for 5 min. or until cheese is melted. Top with greek yogurt, more cilantro and lime.
How do you satisfy your cravings in a healthy way?
Have you heard of the health key™ system?
5 thoughts on “Satisfying cravings using the health key™ system

  1. That recipe is one of my favorites and I’ve been making it for years. Thank you for the great ideas of ingredients to swap out to make this healthier!

  2. I can totally relate to finding ways to satisfy a craving by going with a healthier option. Think I’ve found some good things like Weight Watchers ice cream bars for a lighter dessert option and doing what you did by making my own version of something like stir fry when I want Chinese food. I’ve also found that portion control is key. Eat/drink what you’re craving, just less of it.

  3. That is quite the selection of tortillas! I’ve never heard of healthy key. I seem to crave healthier food, but every now and then, I want a burger and fries, so I just have it. I choose a better restaurant, not fast food, and generally don’t finish my meal because it’s so big anyway. I find for me, it’s best to have a small portion of whatever food I’m craving, that way the craving is satisfied. And sometimes, craving certain foods, like red meat, might indicate that that’s what your body is needing anyway.

    That recipe looks delicious, I’m going to try it!

  4. OH YUMMY on the grass-fed cow AND the healthy substitutes that you made for this recipe. I’m really impressed with Rainbow Foods’ health key system and I wish my local grocery store had it. That looks like a great meal for an athlete! #client

Leave a Reply

