FAB Fitness: Workouts Lately

So I’m going to start up my weekly workout recaps now that I’m working out regularly again, but for now I’ll just recap some highlights from the past few weeks.

I call this one my “Comeback Run:”

It wasn’t fast (3.05 miles at 11:25 pace) but it got done and it didn’t hurt!

Walking never felt so good:

Although taking the dog for a walk with the hubs is one of my favorite activities, I previously thought of myself as physically incapable to going for a walk on my own. I would just get so bored and feel like it was taking SO LONG — and I’m a pretty fast walker! But ever since some time around my eighth week of pregnancy, walking has felt AMAZING. And I’ve never doubted that walking can be a great workout — I mean speed walkers mean business!

A prenatal yoga virgin, no more:

After a long and tiring day at work, I’ll be honest — I did not feel like going to yoga. But I knew my friend Jen was waiting for me and I’m so glad I went! Class started out with everyone introducing themselves and although there were a few parts of class that weirded me out at first (like when we sang to our unborn babies) I found myself really enjoying the deeper connection I felt with baby during class. And although it wasn’t nearly as intense (obviously) as Bikram or a “regular” vinyasa class, but parts of the class were definitely still challenging! And I left with that usual feeling of yoga bliss — just with a little less sweat than usual!

Preggo personal training:

A fabulous early morning session with my personal trainer, Dawn, was just as much an amazingly educational lesson as it was a great workout. We went through some basic exercises that are really great for preparing for childbirth, as well as some exercises that are best to avoid during pregnancy. If I get my act together, I’ll do a separate post on this topic at some point. And Dawn tipped me off to a great resource: 10 minute prenatal pilates. So awesome. My arms and legs were jelly by the end!

Running and college basketball:

This past weekend, I headed to the gym to get in a few miles on the treadmill. The Big Ten tournament was on so the miles flew by. Although this run didn’t feel as effortless as the last, I was really happy with the pace I was able to comfortably maintain (I did three miles at 9:52 pace). I walked briefly a few times and drank more water than I normally would, but felt pretty great, overall.

Back to back runs:

The sunshine was calling my name and after the hubs got back from his 20-miler, I was itching to get outside for a run. It was still a bit chilly, so I had to bundle up. Once I started running, it was clear that my body was not ready for me to run a second day in a row. I was only planning on running two miles, so I tacked on a little extra and took some extended walking breaks (2.45 miles at 10:29 pace). Still happy I got out there and got moving.

Juicy hips:

I woke up sore on Monday after those back-to-back runs so I was really looking forward to prenatal yoga. We had a different instructor for this class and I loved her!  She did a little “juicy hips” series that felt amazing and I loved her energy.

The rest of this week I’m hoping to get in a couple of runs (Shamrock Shuffle is next weekend already!) and if I’m feeling brave I might sign up for a barre class at the studio I’ve been doing yoga at. I’m also looking forward to a prenatal massage this weekend. I’ve heard mixed reviews about prenatal massages, so we’ll see how it goes!

How were your workouts this past week?

Do you get bored “just walking?”

9 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: Workouts Lately

    1. Thank you! Yes. I agree. I’m hoping that if it ever warms up, I can do some light hiking to mix things up a bit!

  1. You’re doing awesome!

    I did a lot of walking for exercise before I started running and still like to throw it in on some of my cross training days. LIke running, walking is “me time” to just zone out, daydream, and relax. I don’t usually get bored walking and usually have music to listen to.

    1. That’s a good point. I should let my mind just wander and see where it takes me 🙂 Maybe if I can get those things out of my mind on my walks, I won’t be kept up when I’m trying to fall asleep at night!

  2. Love that you have an active pregnancy! Healthier you and healthier baby 🙂 I love walking, too… nothing like an after dinner stroll down Summit or along River Road… so peaceful! Happy weekend, dear!

Leave a Reply

