Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

You gotta walk before you can run

6 Comments

My doctor cleared me to start exercising again this week! Nothing extreme, and no running yet but I can start going for longer walks now and can hopefully start easing back into running in the next month or so. I definitely don’t want to set my recovery back or anything, so I’m planning to take a “better safe than sorry” approach and start out super slow and back off if anything feels the least bit off. It’ll feel good to get moving again.

Of course I can’t help but start thinking about racing again. I’m signed up for a couple of 5Ks in September that I’m planning to just walk if I’m not back to running yet. One is the annual race that my husband’s work puts on and the other is in Wisconsin and we’re going to visit some friends at the same time. Thinking that mayyyybe a spring half could be a possibility. I’ve never trained for a spring race that’s longer than a 10K before, so we’ll see.

Over the past week I’ve been slowly getting back into some kind of a routine. Sleeping has been pretty difficult lately, so instead of tossing and turning, I was staying up until the wee hours of the morning watching Netflix. I’ve been trying to do less of that though, and when I’m successful, I’ve also been working on getting out of bed before 10 a.m. I’m not being hard on myself about either of these things, just trying to be conscious of the fact that I’ll be going back to work in a couple of weeks and don’t want it to be a complete shock to my sleep schedule when that time comes.

Also, ever since J went back to work I’ve had so many lovely friends who have met me for breakfast and lunch dates to get me out of the house. And I’ve had plenty to keep me busy at home, too. I’ve been writing out thank you cards and doing light housework. Oh, and I’ve gotten a few fun care packages from friends — complete with trashy (and some not trashy) magazines! Catching up on celebrity gossip certainly passes the time.

I’ll leave you with a random photo dump from my phone:

We're having a memorial for Charlie put in this Garden of the Sleeping Angels

We’re having a memorial for Charlie put in this Garden of the Sleeping Angels

Loved this new (and healthy!) restaurant -- went with a greek yogurt parfait and an almond milk chai latte

Loved this new (and healthy!) restaurant — went with a greek yogurt parfait and an almond milk chai latte

We're been enjoying white buttercream and red velvet cakepops made by the lovely Aimee.

We’re been enjoying white buttercream and red velvet cakepops made by the lovely Aimee.

My friend Kate sent me this beautiful Bama Ry necklace and I've been wearing it everday.

My friend Kate sent me this beautiful Bama Ry necklace and I’ve been wearing it everday.

IMG_1843

We tried growing beets in our garden this year. I think they’re supposed to be bigger than this?

Happy August…AKA my birthday month!

6 thoughts on “You gotta walk before you can run

  1. Happy Birthday month!!! Have you considered doing the couch to 5k app? I’m considering doing it again just to get my legs back to the idea of running. Also, I googled the garden of the sleeping angels, and I think that is such a wonderful place!

  2. So glad to see you are taking things one step at a time…literally, in this healing process. So many beautiful things you are doing in Charlie’s memory, thanks for sharing the journey with us and allowing us to be a part. XOXO

  3. Yay, I’m glad you enjoyed the trashy magazines!

Leave a Reply

