Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Firing up the Fitbit

3 Comments

The Fitbit has made a reappearance! While I wore it through some of my pregnancy to keep me motivated after I wasn’t running anymore, it’s been sitting in a drawer for the past couple of months — ever since the doctor told me I wasn’t allowed to do any physical activity anymore. But this past Friday I charged it up, referenced my tips about how to get the most out of a Fitbit, and have been wearing it everyday since.

I’m loosely aiming for 10,000 steps per day since I’ve been cleared to walk again, but I’m not being too strict for the next week or two since I’m still healing and want to take it easy. Here’s what the past few days have looked like:

Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 10.37.58 AM

Since I used to rely on running to get my steps in, I’ve been having fun just using walking to hit the 10,000 mark. On Saturday, I met my friend Mandy for coffee and we went for a 1.77 mile walk and then later in the day, J and I took Cole to the big dog park where I got another mile or so walk in. I topped off my steps with a quick trip to Ikea that afternoon. Sunday was pretty low key — we went to brunch and then after a mimosa (or two) I took a little nap. We did go for a nice long walk that evening, but not long enough to get in 10,000 steps. I did some shopping mall walking at the Mall of America on Monday and went for an afternoon 2.77 mile walk on Tuesday.

What’s also fun is that while I’ve been off of work, my co-workers have all gotten Fitbits and they’ve even set up a group to track all of our steps! I’m looking forward to seeing what kinds of numbers we can rack up! I’m kind of bummed though, the next badge I can get is for 45,000 steps. I don’t think I’ll be able to get that until the next time I run a marathon.

Do you have a Fitbit? Let’s be friends!

How do you get your steps in?

3 thoughts on “Firing up the Fitbit

  1. When I got my Fitbit I couldn’t believe how hard it was to get to 10,000 steps without running. I am pretty sedentary during the day at work, so I found that I needed to walk a few miles after work plus go to the grocery store to get to 10,000. It’s crazy!
    Are you going to come for the end of Ragnar? I want to give you a big Happy Birthday hug!

Leave a Reply

