Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

FAB Fitness: Week of 8/11 Workouts

8 Comments

Monday: 4.14 mile walk (17 min/mi pace)

I tried really hard to get my average pace to be sub-17:00 and was thrilled when I pressed “stop” on Runkeeper, because it said 16:57. However, once it recalculated, it adjusted my pace to an even 17:00. Bummer.

Tuesday: 5.24 mile walk (18:48 min/mi pace)

Met up with a friend for a couple of laps around Lake Nokomis. It was an absolutely gorgeous afternoon — sunny with a nice breeze.

Wednesday: REST DAY

Thursday: 2.19 mile run (13:42 min/mi pace)

IMG_1998

I had a doctor appointment in the afternoon where I was cleared to run again! I couldn’t get home fast enough to change my clothes and slip on my running shoes. Since I know myself all too well, I’ve decided to use the Couch to 5K app for the next couple of weeks to make sure I really ease back into running. Day one of the program had me do a 5 minute warm up walk and then alternate between one minute of running and one minute, 30 seconds of walking for 20 minutes, before cooling down with a 5 minute walk. I felt great!

At my appointment, I also found out that I’ve lost two more pounds, although we’ll see how that holds up with my birthday weekend plans!

Friday: REST DAY

Even though the day started out with the bummer news that it was going to cost $900 to fix the air conditioning in my car and I had to say goodbye to the hubs and the rest of his van that was leaving for Ragnar, the day did eventually get better. It started by meeting my friend Katrina for gel manicures!

IMG_2008

Then, that evening, Andrea and I headed to Open Arms of Minneapolis for the North Coast Nosh. Check out my recap here. After the Nosh, we had a fun sleepover, complete with beer and Friends!

Saturday: 2.22 mile BIRTHDAY run (13:31 min/mi pace)

With the dew point steadily creeping up and a full day of birthday fun planned, I headed out for day two of the Couch to 5K program around 8 a.m. I improved my pace slightly from Thursday’s run.

After I returned home from my run, I got ready and met up with friends to get my birthday kicked off with a fabulous brunch at Heyday!

IMG_2034

After brunch, me, Andrea and some other friends met up with J’s van at one of the exchanges. It was good to see them and although I wasn’t necessarily jealous that I wasn’t running Ragnar this year, it looked like they were having a lot of fun.

I picked up my free birthday drink at Starbucks and then got ready to go out for the night! Since J was going to be recovering from Ragnar, I had planned a girls’ night out at the Rabbit Hole. I had the best time and now want to go back to The Rabbit Hole for future girls’ nights out! The service was awesome, the drinks are super fun (and yummy) and at the end of the night, they brought out an amazing dessert platter!

IMG_2042IMG_2050

(more photos on Instagram)

Sunday: REST DAY

I wrapped up my birthday weekend by sleeping in, being lazy all day and dinner at my favorite restaurant!

Have you run Ragnar before? Did you run this year?

What’s your favorite way to celebrate your birthday?

8 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: Week of 8/11 Workouts

  1. This year I had a very low key birthday. I haven’t done Ragnar, but hope to soon! I would really love to do the Miami to Key West race!

  2. Happy birthday! I love the Rabbit Hole. My next door neighbor has a new restaurant right by it too that I have been meaning to try (He has the food truck Hot Indian).

    Welcome back to running 🙂

  3. So fun! Happiest of happy birthdays, my friend! And, hooray for your return to running! xo.

  4. Happy Birthday! (again) Looks and sounds like it was a great week!

  5. I want to do a Ragnar so badly! Was asked a few years ago to do Chicago with a friend, but I was two months postpartum. I wasn’t really sure what it was back then, anyway. There’s a group of people up here who do Great River, but the timing is bad for me; when you work at a university, it’s the busiest time of the year. I’m hoping one of these days I can find a team who’s looking for a fun and easy going runner who’s not exactly a speed demon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

